Day 36 - Bassett to O'Neill - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2016

Day 36 - Bassett to O'Neill

Can't help but get up at sunrise.
But this time everything was wet - and it didn't rain last night.
Strange.

So I packed up everything, anyhow, and rode into downtown Bassett for breakfast. And what a surprise that was - the Bassett Lodge and Cafe are 1950s western Americana - right down to the cigarette machine. (Sans cigarettes)

The Fifties Western Bassett Lodge
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the Bassett Cafe
Heart 4 Comment 0
With Cigarette Machine - All the Old Labels
Heart 0 Comment 0

After I had a delicious breakfast, I rode back to the fairgrounds to see if Kaisa and Christoffer were up. They were, but didn't feel they had time for a cafe breakfast. We got some daylight photos and they asked about routes in Idaho and Oregon. I told them that they had the best ahead of them.

Kaisa and Christoffer from Finland -
Biking X-USA from East to West
Heart 1 Comment 0

A tailwind for them meant a headwind for me - moderate, but persistent. There was little left in Newport. Stuart provided the needed large Arnold Palmer. Then at Atkinson, I decided to take a break. They had a lovely library and I finished up one of my piano compositions at the senior center.

Downtown Atkinson
Heart 2 Comment 0

But - but - I didn't get back on the road until late afternoon. By the time I got to O'Neill, I couldn't convince myself to do another 20 miles to the next town with camping. Even though I'd only done 50 miles. O'Neill had plenty of old motels converted to flop houses and closed businesses. Things are tough in rural America.

Wide Open Spaces in Nebraska
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,788 miles (2,878 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0