Day 19 - Billings to Hardin - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2016

Day 19 - Billings to Hardin

38F yesterday morning - 60F this morning.. And it’s gonna be 100F by noon, today. Crazy, just crazy.

Jeni and I both got up early and visited some more. She had to get to work and I had to get on the road early. We hugged and said goodbye - and I was off in the early morning, big city traffic.

I was a little worried about the ride to Hardin on Old Highway 87. Very hot today and there is absolutely nothing for almost 50 miles.

Headin' Out of Billings on Old Highway 87
Heart 2 Comment 0

The road climbs a steep ridge in a series of switchback just a few miles from Billings. Of course, the climb was a cakewalk for yours truly - got my climbing legs. Then is was a glorious, cool morning, descent to Pryor Creek through bluffs and meadows.

These Guys Are Just Beautiful
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wow! The Magical Back Roads
Heart 2 Comment 0

I had climbed the gradual divide to the midway point very easily. And the NOAA forecast had predicted light west winds. So I was expecting a fast, tailwind downhill into Hardin. (Expectations can get you into trouble.)

Topping Out on Old Highway 87 - No Traffic
Heart 2 Comment 0

Instead, the heat kicked up and it was still - with a slight headwind according to the grass. When I would stop, the heat would engulf me like a blanket. So, I guess I should be grateful that I had a little breeze when riding.

Drylands with a Seasonal Creek Painting a Swirl
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got into Hardin just before noon and went straight to the library. Ahhhhhh! After updating my journal, I went back out under a tree and took a short nap. Then back to the library and air-conditioning. By now the west wind had picked up - 25 mph with 40 mph gusts, maybe more - like a blast furnace.

I called the local Congregational Church and one of the members, Beverly, offered me a placed to camp in her backyard. She had just gotten back from a riverboat cruise of the Danube. So we shared adventures and the issues facing small churches. And solved everything in short order.

Another good day, indeed.

Big Horn County Courthouse in Hardin - - Hot!!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 1,077 miles (1,733 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0