Day 18 - Ryegate to Billings - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2016

Day 18 - Ryegate to Billings

(Photos and map function not loading)

Up at 5:00 and the bank clock said 39F. Amazing, isn’t it? From 39F to 99F - back and forth.

Sunrise over the Musselshell River
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was hoping to get into Billings before it got too hot. But, hey, once I got on the road, my hands told me they were cold. Ah, but the advantage was almost no traffic and wonderful early morning light.

First Rays of Sunlight on a Chilly Morning
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was a pretty easy ride to Lavina. Stopped to take a last photo of the Musselshell Valley. Had cookies and coffee at the corner store. There was nothing remaining open in town, proper. And again, the old hotel - The Adams - stood proud, but tattered.

The Lovely Dowager Hotel Adams in Lavina
Heart 3 Comment 0

A band of clouds had kept the morning nice and cool. I climbed the bluffs into the Comanche Plains to Broadview and stopped for a Coke. It was only 9:00 and I was sure I’d be in Billings by noon. Ha-ha.

Looking Out over the Comanche Plains - the Tips of the Crazies on the Horizon
Heart 0 Comment 0

As soon as I headed out from Broadview, the headwinds came up. Soft and surly at first, then stronger and stronger. And at an angle where every oncoming car and semi blasted me. The Comanche Plains - flat and totally exposed. I didn’t see anything because I kept my head down the whole time.

Better Watch Out for Poisonous Varmints - Park Above Billings
Heart 0 Comment 0

After I got closer to Billings, I was expecting some downgrade. Wrong, again. You keep climbing all the way to the bluffs overlooking town. Then you zoom down in one minute - with stoplights, too.

Looking Down on the Fair City of Billings
(All that uphill pedaling squandered in 30 seconds)
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, I treated myself to meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and cherry pie at the Perkins. It’s amazing! The bike turned into the parking lot all by itself. Next, it was off to the library and catching up on the journal - hard work.

Then off to see my friend Jeni who lives on the west side of town. She grew up in Buffalo - - her Mom, Jonesy, was simply the best. We hadn’t seen each other in three years and had lots of catching up to do. Jeni, like her Mom, and I share a trait towards frankness that sometimes gets us into hot water. But it is refreshing when you call 100% organic cow manure “bullshit”. Great evening.

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,024 miles (1,648 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0