Day 11 - Murray to Plains - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2016

Day 11 - Murray to Plains

(Frustrated because the site dropped all my text.)

Cloudy morning - got up quietly and packed up.

Leaving Murray on a Cloudy Morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

The road was almost entirely empty except for a logging truck every half hour or so. I would pull off and wave them by - it was easy for me to pull off I was going so slowly.

Slow Going for This Boy
Heart 0 Comment 0

I won't tell you how many times I had to stop on the way up Thompson Pass - the operative word is "many". Still I made it up to the top and took a long apple and cracker break looking down on the switchbacks I had just climbed.

Cresting Thompson Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking Down on the Switchbacks
Heart 1 Comment 0

Then it was time for the well-deserved tide down the mountain. By now the sun had come out and the temperature was perfect. Mountains, elk, and streams with sunshine. Not bad.

The Return on the Investment
Heart 2 Comment 0
Elk Running Across the Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Your Typical Creekside Montana View
Heart 1 Comment 0

I took the Thompson Pass route for a couple of reasons. First, the road has almost no traffic and isn't too bad of a climb. But also, you end up at the High Bridge at Thompson Falls - a recently renovated railroad bridge 200 feet above the Clark Fork River, with an island park in the middle.

High Bridge at Thompson Falls
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Bike/Ped Walkway
Heart 1 Comment 0
And the View from the Bridge
Heart 3 Comment 0

The town proved less inviting. Dial-up speed Wi-fi at two cafes where I stopped - lunch and dessert. The library was closed and the chamber of commerce was not where the state tourism website said it was. When I finally reached the chamber president on the phone, she said she was itching to quit. Not even a tourist info kiosk. I was finally able to connect at the courthouse after the info person returned - she was the first person in about 8 who knew or cared assisting me - and Montana courthouses are supposed to have public access Wi-fi. And one wonders why Thompson Falls is struggling.

Downtown Thompson Falls
Heart 2 Comment 0

Anyhoo, the wind was blowing hard and in my direction so I set out for Plains - 26 miles away - zooming. Except that Highway 200 is a tricky road - often without shoulders and with high-speed traffic. When I rode this highway in 1987 on my first cross-country tour, the speed limit was 55 mph. Now, they are going 75 mph - big diff.

Highway 200 Has Narrow Sections with Fast Traffic
Heart 1 Comment 0

Once when I pulled off the road to avoid a scissors, I caught a big, ole train.

With Choo-Choo Trains to Keep You Company
Heart 2 Comment 0

There are killer goathills every few miles - the train tracks claimed the low ground. But you get a great panorama of the valley at the top of each.

And Steep Goathills Every Few Miles with Panoramas on Top
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally, I got into Plains. Stopped by the grocery for cookies and milk and other essentials. Then went by the library and asked the librarians where I might camp. They suggested I see Len at the fairgrounds in his little yellow house. He took me to a perfect spot under some big cottonwoods - with showers and bathroom nearby. Charged me $5.

Ahhhh - tent up and sleep.

Plains, Montana - with a Great Library and a Fairgrounds on the River
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 600 miles (966 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0