Day 10 - Harrison to Murray - C2C - from Westport, Washington to Sandy Hook, New Jersey - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2016

Day 10 - Harrison to Murray

Up before 5:00 but the little tourist hamlet of Harrison definitely does not run on farmer's time.Walked about town and managed to sit under the Wi-Fi pole to get my journaling done.

Bought a half-gallon of 2% mile at the store when it opened. Only drank half and wrapped the jug with a wet bandana to keep it chilled all morning. Then it was off on the trail again.

Last View of Lake Coeur d'Alene
Heart 1 Comment 0

The next section of the Trail of the Coeur d'Alenes travels along miles of wetlands and shallow lakes. It is simply incredible to cycle with only the accompaniment of birdsong.

Miles of Wetlands
Heart 4 Comment 0

Just before I was planning to take a break, I saw a moose out on the trail. I stopped as quietly as I could, but she still knew I was there. After a few minutes, she turned tail and ran back into the brush.

Moose on the Trail
Heart 1 Comment 0

You just can't beat mile after mile of river scenery with nary a car to worry about. I met a couple from Seattle who were doing a round-trip on the trail. We chilled for a bit with cheese and crackers and politics. It's nice to have the cooler temperatures and, thus, the leisure to stop whenever the situation calls for it.

Coeur d'Alene River Bend
Heart 5 Comment 0

Next up was a long, leisurely lunch at the barbeque cafe at Cataldo. Spent way too much money and too much time, but was able to sneak a few little pieces of BBQ to their 15-year old golden retriever, Pretty. Badddddd.

Then it was back to the public highways. In this case, the North Fork Road - which had a good deal of Sunday afternoon traffic coming in the other direction, but not too much on my side. Within an hour, most of it had disappeared and I was riding along a quiet river again.

Heading Up the North Fork into the Mountains
Heart 2 Comment 0

I figured hitting Murray on a Sunday night would not be a problem, so I kept on. Had a burger and Coke at the Goldmine Bar and talked with a local, Rich, about all things except Trump. I was planning on camping by the creek, but another local, Jerrod, offered me to camp in his yard.

Long, lovely day. Tired.

Bedroom Goldmine Bar in Murray
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 544 miles (875 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0