Bakersfield, CA - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2018

Bakersfield, CA

My plan for the day was to make a detour at the Flight Test Museum at Edwards Airforce Base. But Warm Showers host explained that I did not have the required authorization.

They urged me to visit the Tehachapi Loop instead. It's a railroad pass through the mountains that was built in the 19 th century. As a train ascent, it first makes two hairpin bends and then loops over itself.

When I arrived, there were only a couple of spectators but no trains. A few minutes later a train started the ascent. As it was looping over itself, a second train came form the other side and we could see them pass each other.

Once the trains left, I continued my journey. The road I was on, terminated at Freeway 58. I continued on the freeway, as I was advised. A careful inspection of the road signs revealed that bicycles were allowed while pedestrians and motorcycles were banned.

I existed at the first offramp. I followed directions given by Google Maps. The roads got steeper and steeper. The last mile was signposted "Private Road - Access controlled by electronic gate.  4 wheel drive only." I didn't want to go all the way back to the freeway, so I risked it. It was an unpaved road descending at 16 % ! Fortunately there was only one gate and it was not locked.

Chayote ?
Heart 0 Comment 1
There used to be a pizza chain in SA with the same name, but they changed their name to Romans Pizza after this US chain threatened legal action.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The ascending train loops over itself
Heart 2 Comment 0
Shortly before the trains pass each other
Heart 2 Comment 0
The locomotive exits the tunnel
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view from the other side as the descending train loops over itself
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 133 km (83 miles)
Total: 3,307 km (2,054 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI grew up in Mojave, '56-'66. One sister lives in Tehachapi. Went to jr. college in Lancaster. Been following with interest as you passed through familiar territory.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago