Preface - Burgers and spacecraft - CycleBlaze

Preface

After 2 months touring in North West Europe and 3 months in South East Asia, I'm now heading to the US for 5 months. This will be my first visit to the US and I will visit many museums and tourist attractions.

My research lead me to the website of the Smithsonian Institute. The highlights of the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center includes some extraordinary objects: Space Shuttle Discovery, B-29 Superfortress Enola Gay, Concorde, Lockheed Martin SR-71 Blackbird, Boeing Stratoliner.

And, after visitors marveled  at these historic machines, where are visitors expected to dine ? At the on site McDonalds off course !

And it reinforces my perception of the US: Highly sophisticated in some ways and completely unsophisticated in others.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingG'day Nic

Re Macdonalds ( or Maccas as we Aussies refer to them), they recently rebuilt the Melbourne Children's Hospital and a Macdonalds was included therein!

Cheers
Mike
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jeff Arnim"And it reinforces my perception of the US: Highly sophisticated in some ways and completely unsophisticated in others."

This is one of the most concise, accurate descriptions of my country that I have ever read. I hope you have a wonderful time on your ride and meet many wonderful people along the way. I look forward to following along!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago