Day 27: Marshfield to Everton; Riding the Missouri Roller Coaster - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2015

Day 27: Marshfield to Everton; Riding the Missouri Roller Coaster

Marshfield, MO (Holiday Inn Express) to Everton, MO (Running Springs Farm)
Heart 0 Comment 0

(Note to readers regarding the elevation profiles; the profile is calculated from Point "A" on the map to Point "B" on the map. Since I am traveling east to west on the first half of this transcontinental journey, my route of travel is usually shown on the map as being from right to left. However, the elevation profile is shown from left to right, so it must be "reversed" in your head to understand it.)

Climbing Today; 2,280 ft -- Total So Far; 76,109 ft

Staying at the Holiday Inn Express was like staying at a 5-star hotel compared to some of the places I have experienced on this journey. The breakfast was insanely good; a "real" breakfast with bacon and eggs and such. In my professional life I work with folks who would think a Holiday Inn Express was not classy enough for their needs; they haven't walked in my shoes the last month, else they'd have a very different perspective.

It's a cool-cold Ozark morning, and due to my leisurely breakfast I have started "late" at 7:45 am. My destination and lodging arrangements for tonight are unknown at this time, but I'm not worried; I have been here before and I'm learning to deal with it. It is still a little disconcerting to head off without knowing WHERE or even IF I have a place to stay tonight, but it's only a small concern. After all, I certainly will stay somewhere tonight, now won't I? Daniel and James camped last night and I haven't encountered them this morning, but perhaps I will text later and see if they have any plans.

I rolled into Fair Grove and stopped for a chocolate milk - I have recently developed a craving for chocolate milk. An elderly gentleman named "Charles" introduced himself to me and told me he had "lived in these parts for 72 years." He then proceeded to tell me that he could see me quite well as he approached me from behind on the road. He was complementing my lights; he's right, I have good lights and I'm quite visible to approaching drivers. My lights even have a "daytime running light" feature, and I use them constantly.

The uphill climbs in the Ozarks are still challenging, but one can now charge down the hills and attack the next uphill and get a good start on clearing it. Well, sometimes anyway - there are still some steep hills that require sustained effort in the granny gear.

Roller Coaster Hills are Fun When You Have Enough Speed to Clear the Next Hill
Heart 0 Comment 0

Thirty miles into the ride, I find that these rolling hills are taking quite a toll. The constant charge downhill and attack uphill require anaerobic bursts of energy that are taxing my energy reserves. These Ozarks are demanding respect and they require their usual pound of flesh from me today. So what's a pound of flesh worth anyway? One pound of fat can generate 3,500 calories. Of course, that assumes that one is conditioned adequately so that the aerobic system has learned to burn the fat for fuel. Since I'm burning around 7,000 - 9,000 calories per day, a pound of flesh is enough to power me about half-way each day.

I'm working my way toward Walnut Grove where I plan to rest and contemplate my immediate future (my very immediate future, as in where I will stay tonight). I passed some interesting old buildings.

Interesting Old Buildings
Heart 0 Comment 0

As the hills have flattened out, I am seeing more farm and pasture land.

Missouri Pastoral Scene
Heart 0 Comment 0

At Walnut Grove I attempted to call a place in Everton listed as "camping/lodging" on the ACA map, but I don't reach anyone. Sigh... tonight may be challenging indeed. Pushing on, I reached a store a few miles outside Everton and called again. This time I got someone at the Running Springs Farm Lodge, and the news is they don't have camping space - but they do have indoor lodging for cyclists and the price is only $25. There are no stores in Everton, so one needs to buy food beforehand. I picked up a can of chef-boy-ar-dee and a can of mixed fruit; together with my peanut butter and bread that will make an adequate meal tonight. The lady answering the phone told me that Daniel and James are enroute to the lodge as well, so I also picked up a 6-pack of beer to surprise the guys.

I followed the directions to reach Running Springs Farm from Everton, and found myself cycling 1 mile down a gravel road and entering the farm gate. Owner Bill Cork met me as I cycled up and told me I could store my bike under the covered porch, then proceeded to give me a tour of the place. It's really quite nice. It once was used as a hunting lodge, but now is primarily used by Transam cyclists and the occasional family gathering.

Running Springs Farm is the Only Lodging in These Parts
Heart 0 Comment 0
Running Springs Farm Guest House
Heart 0 Comment 0
Running Springs Farm Guest Quarters is Quite Nice
Heart 0 Comment 0
Running Springs Farm Guest Quarters
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are 2 Bedrooms in Addition to the Bunk Room
Heart 0 Comment 0

When Daniel and James arrived, I showed them around and we all settled in. Then I suggested that we should flip coins to see who has to cycle back to the store 4 miles away to get beer. They both protested that they were just too tired to get back on the bike, but I eventually talked them into it and made sure that I lost the "odd man out" coin flip. Pretending to be devastated, I went to my bedroom ostensibly to change back into my cycling clothes, but instead emerged with the beer I had bought. Good cheer erupted as the guys realized the joke.

We pooled our foods for supper that night, and had chef-boy-ar-dee, instant potatoes, and sardines. Later that night I found it quite humorous when Daniel asked "Does anyone want the rest of the sardines and mashed potatoes?" Only in a group of hungry cyclists would this not be considered to be a strange food combination. Bedtime now, I'm contemplating a possible Gonzo day tomorrow...

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,551 miles (2,496 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0