Day 26: Houston to Marshfield; Will The Ozarks Never End? - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2015

Day 26: Houston to Marshfield; Will The Ozarks Never End?

Houston, MO (Lazy L Motel) to Marshfield, MO (Holiday Inn Express)
Heart 0 Comment 0

(Note to readers regarding the elevation profiles; the profile is calculated from Point "A" on the map to Point "B" on the map. Since I am traveling east to west on the first half of this transcontinental journey, my route of travel is usually shown on the map as being from right to left. However, the elevation profile is shown from left to right, so it must be "reversed" in your head to understand it.)

Climbing Today; 3,176 ft -- Total So Far; 73,829 ft

There was a light drizzle this morning, so I was in no hurry to leave. I had ordered brownies with my pizza last night, so breakfast this morn consisted of leftover pizza and a brownie. I had two brownies left so I gave them to Nikky and Sabine as I was leaving. They seem surprised by the things we Americans eat for breakfast; from what I can tell, most Europeans eat a much healthier breakfast than we do. Seems as if "porridge" (oatmeal) is the norm.

I rolled out and began to experience another beautiful foggy Ozark mountain morn.

Foggy Mountain Ridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foggy Ozark Morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foggy Morning Scene
Heart 0 Comment 0
Foggy Morning in the Ozarks
Heart 0 Comment 0

I came upon this old school house;

Alice School, 1915. Who was Alice?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I wondered who Alice was; was she a teacher, or did she establish the school, or...? While such thoughts were rattling around inside me, I rolled into Ben Davis where I had planned to stop for a morning refreshment break, but the store was now closed!

Yikes! I Planned to Get Water Here
Heart 0 Comment 0

Oh well, I had water and snack food to get me down the road. The Ozarks have mostly become a series of rolling hills now, although some of them are very steep climbs towards the top.

The Road Ahead Rises
Heart 0 Comment 0
Reverse View From the Top of the Rise
Heart 0 Comment 0

I came to a 1-lane bridge, and dutifully awaited my turn to proceed.

A 1-Lane Bridge. I Yielded as Per the Sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm not sure what sort of flower this is, but I've been told it is a pink daisy. Kind of looks like a sunflower to me.

A Pink Sunflower?
Heart 0 Comment 0

If I had any doubt that I was in the Missouri Ozarks, this mailbox settles it.

I'm Definitely in Missouri
Heart 0 Comment 0

This old barn is still used for hay storage.

This Old Barn is Being Used for Hay Storage
Heart 0 Comment 0

I guess they mean well, but a picture of cannon at the ready is a rather strange welcome sign.

Rather Strange Welcome Sign
Heart 0 Comment 0

I found a Sunday buffet at a diner in Hartville that was quite good. Half a dozen of us cyclists ate the buffet, and I find it hard to believe they made any money off us. Touring cyclists are constantly hungry. Continuous exercise for 6 - 12 hours per day will make you hungry, I guarantee it. Here's today's beautiful stream photo;

Another Beautiful Ozark Stream
Heart 0 Comment 0

And here's a notice to motorists that we are in Amish country. Do the Amish ride bicycles? I called the Holiday Inn Express in Marshfield where I had a room reserved to request they put me on the first floor so I can just roll my bike into the room. They told me they love cyclists as guests. When I asked why, I was told it is because cyclists leave early in the morning, and that allows the cleaning staff to begin prepping the rooms early. OK, now that I know, I need to begin asking for a "cyclist discount" when I book a room.

Let's Just All Get Along and Share the Road, OK?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Although I've had some rainy weather, it's been pretty mild compared to the pounding the midwest has taken recently. I found the Holiday Inn Express and felt like I was in luxury accommodations. It was nice to be inside for the night, and sleep again came easy...

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 1,495 miles (2,406 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0