Déja vu? - A Bit of Bavaria and Bohemia - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2022

Déja vu?

Been there, done that - virtually via Janos's journal that is.

To my own surprise, we are planning a late autumn tour. I didn't expect to get a window of free time and good weather at the same time this late in the season. Next week schools have fall vacation in Bavaria which means I will have no tai chi or French classses (I am brushing up for next summer). And who would have expected to have mild days and no rain in Germany at the beginning of November?

This all led to a flurry of planning. My first choice was to cycle the Drau Valley which I had planned for a few weeks after my operation and then realized it was too soon to be on my bike several hours a day. But by now I was feeling fit. I had the routes on my computer and just needed to book our lodgings. This turned out to be a more difficult proposition. The holiday on Tuesday, All Saints Day, and school vacation were probably responsible for the lack of available rooms. 

Then it occurred to me that Janos wanted to show me the tour he had done alone in the border land of Germany and the Czech Republic while I was gadding about in the Black Forest with Susan. This area isn't such a popular tourist destination that the hotels would be full on a long weekend.

This time Janos was responsibe for the logistics. He planned the routes, booked the hotels and will be driving us to Hohenau, the starting point of our four-day loop. We will be following the route he took in September with a few variations.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Scott AndersonHey, this is so exciting that you’re getting out again!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonHow wonderful! I look forward to reading your journal!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamOH yeah!! Good for you to go on another tour. I will be watching for your journal entries ;’-).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan CarpenterGreat to hear you’re ready to tour again! Looking forward to your adventures and photos
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenThis is terrific. We are at our departure gate at the Vancouver airport for the quick hop to the island and we are looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpExcellent to be riding fit so soon and to have good weather forecast so late in the season. Enjoy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago