Trail magic involving donuts, what else does one need? - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Trail magic involving donuts, what else does one need?

Heart 0 Comment 0

The wind picked up over night, but the humidity helped keep it warm. I remember thinking it felt nice now, but I wasn’t looking forward to the humidity when riding. Packing up went quick, ate my oatmeal, and got on the road. The 76 mile day yesterday didn’t affect my legs as much as I would have guessed. I wonder if I have my ‘Road legs’ yet. Today’s destination was 57 miles away at another volunteer fire department. I was really hoping to be inside for the rain coming tonight, but i wasn’t willing to pay $75 for the BnB close to where I wanted to stop. As I was leaving town, I questioned if I should fill up my water bottle before pushing the 25 miles I wanted to do. Ended up not replenishing, which I soon found out wasn’t the best choice. I forgot I drank half a bottle last night, and used the rest for overnight oats. Luckily, the hills were small, and the early morning was cool, so no need for much water.

Another crazy beautiful rolling hills morning with the sun peaking out beyond the horizon. Every hill I climbed, I turned around to snap a picture. I’m absolutely sold on early morning riding, and I’ll likely be doing this for the rest of the trip. Yesterday I was warned about a bridge down on our route, but was told if you ask politely the crew will lay plywood to cross. As I pulled up, I acted like a lost puppy, and sure enough they set up the makeshift bridge. I waved the crew another thank you, but they were already back at work. I started cranking out serious speeds. When I’m moving I hate stopping, so I open my handlebar bag and snack on-the-go. Today’s choice was a childhood favorite: iced animal crackers. Those animals lead me right into town, where I was 20 minutes early until the library opened. Decided on grabbing a coffee, which tasted like burnt water. Made my way over to the lib, found a comfy chair, outlet, and space out of view, and went to town on sleeping arrangements, weather updates, reading other cyclists blogs and writing my own, sneaking scoops of creamy peanut butter along the way. Why did I choose creamy again? I won’t forget next time. Two hours later I’m slow to get up. I chit chat with the librarians for a few minutes, filling them in with my experiences in eastern Kentucky, more specifically the dog encounters. “Good luck, stay safe!” they said. “You too!” I say, instantly realizing I told them to stay safe too. Whatever, I’m on my way.

To get to the library, I went a mile off route. When I left, I continued on this route after seeing Abraham Lincolns childhood home and birthplace were on the route to the next town off the Trams am. The road absolutely sucked. Not much traffic, but zero shoulder and deep rumble strips that shake the salt and pepper out of you when ran over. Not to mention the wind. I had one huge climb, but I took the opportunity to call a friend to catch up. A mile out of town, I saw the best sign of the day. Amazin’ glazin’ donuts! This is EXACTLY what I’ve been looking for, a donut shop in a small town that isn’t from a convenience store or chain. I rolled on up, basically drooling out of the mouth either from the thought of a donut or delirium. I check the hours posted,  CLOSED at 12 pm. I arrived at 12:37. I let out a triump ‘UGHHHH’. I must have made my point because a second later, I hear a voice say would you like donuts? I quickly turned, and said YES please! A kind woman opened the shop back up, and allowed me to buy a couple donuts to devour. Her name is Lori (sorry if that’s spelled wrong). We instantly got to talking about my donut count, my trail name of fritter, her moving to this town, living in Pittsburg, the bike trip, and everything else. She made my day. Not to mention the donuts were phenomenal. I had to try the glazed, as this is a true test of a quality donut. Then I ate one of my favorite all time donuts. Blueberry glazed cake donut, but just to make this fried dough circle even better, Lori tops it was cream cheese frosting. This is my new favorite type of donut: Glazed blueberry cake donut with cream cheese frosting. YUM. Can you guess what happens next? Me either. Lori offers me a donut on the house, and I ask for her recommendation. We go with the Cheese danish. I decided to save this novelty for a post dinner treat. Lori, just like you wrote on that piece of paper about making someone’s day, you absolutely did that for me. I left happy, and headed straight to my second library of the day for more research and air conditioning.

The wind was ruthless leaving town, and the sun was cooking me like bacon. I put my head down and pushed 10 miles to a Pilot travel center off the interstate. I considered a shower, but after being informed of the $12 cost, I quickly denied that option. I deemed spending the money on a Subway sandwich was the better choice. Went with the veggie delight, hold the olives. I bummed on their wifi for the better part of two hours in order to let the temperature come down a bit. I summed up the energy to get back on the bike and make a quick stop to dollar general.

As I was nearing my final destination, a local fire station pavilion, I noticed a beautiful pavilion behind a church. I pedaled in to survey the scene, and it seemed this would be my home for the night. I set up the tent on concrete and laid out my gear on a picnic table like a yard sale. A car rolled up past me, I awkwardly waved. Walked up to them and sure enough they were totally cool with me sleeping here. Once they left, I undressed and showered under a water spiket. It wasn’t very effective, but definitely helped. I graciously rolled into my tent in the dark and laid down, wishing for a more of a breeze to cool me off. Dogs barked all night, but I was half asleep to begin with. Tomorrow I will attempt 80 miles to catch up with two cool dudes, I’m ready to ride.

STATS

Total mileage: 910

Donut count: 12

Disclaimer: Regarding the donut count, I choose quality over quantity! Convenience stores seem too easy, I’m looking for the small business shops.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0