Loaded Questions - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

April 12, 2017

Loaded Questions

Heart 0 Comment 0

Who: I will be biking with a new friend, Brian from New York, for the trip across the US. Brian has some extensive touring expeditions, and is currently on the road documenting his trip. You should really follow his blog at: https://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/?o=1fs&doc_id=18936&v=6t

What: The route we will be biking is called the TransAmerica Trail. It’s a very well-known route put together by Adventure Bicycling Association that thousands of people have crossed over the years. It spans 4228.5 miles coast to coast with off route detours sometimes taken.

Where: The TAT (TransAmerica Trail) takes us through Virginia, Kentucky, Illinois, Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, and Oregon. Our plan will be to begin the route from east to west, starting in Yorktown, Virginia and ending in Astoria, Oregon.

Heart 0 Comment 0

How: Self-supported. This means I carry all necessary items to support my everyday needs. This includes hot/cold temperature-appropriate clothing, camping equipment, bike repair tools, meals and snacks, WATER, and miscellaneous items for everyday use. Camping and couchsurfing/warmshowers will be the main sleeping arrangements each night, but also Airbnbs and hotels are certainly on the list when necessary.

Why: A past CS’ing (couchsurfing) host shared stories of his ride across the country, and I was in awe, but mostly fascinated. After two years of constantly imagining about it, I made the decision to make the ride. I’m constantly told “I wish I did this or that when I was your age/your health”. I definitely don’t take this statement with a grain of salt. It has motivated me so much more than you’d believe. For better or worse, I’m the type of person that goes all in when it comes to accomplishing something, so here I come America.

I, also, do it for the donuts.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I will be writing as often as possible. Poor connection may be a factor in daily posts, but I will do my best. I’m pretty excited for this trip, I’ve been planning since November 2016 by purchasing gear and researching constantly. Im excited to share with you as much as possible.

21 days to go. May 2nd can and can’t come soon enough.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0