Rolling Hills, Coffee and Baseball - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Rolling Hills, Coffee and Baseball

Heart 0 Comment 0

Waking up wasn’t easy today, I slept so well with the rain fly wide open with cool air. My sleeping bag is rated 20 degrees, so most nights I’m actually a bit warm. Nonetheless, 5 AM seemed to have come quicker than usual. At this point, I’m in a routine, and packing everything up, eating, and hooking bags on my bike takes about 30 to 35 minutes at a comfortable pace. It’s all about packing as much as possible the night before to set yourself up for success. By 6 AM I was on the road, leaving behind some really amazing people I wish I could stay with longer. I know we’ll cross paths again someday. The sun began to show its color around 6:12ish AM, and it’s enough light to comfortably ride on the road. It took about 15 minutes to leave the urban area, and quickly you’re back in the countryside. This morning happened to be one of the most beautiful rides I’ve had this whole trip for several reasons. First, there were no major climbs, just rolling hills. This allows me to average a higher speed, not that I was rushing to pass this amazing scenery, but it’s nice to go fast. Second, the sun plays peek-a-boo behind the hills. This made it feel as if I had several sunrises. Third, the colors of the sky were just extraordinary; I couldn’t help but take as many pictures as possible. And lastly, the farm land. The cows, grass, barns, and homes were captivating, and this went on for miles. Little to zero traffic, cool temperatures, and riding strong, everything seemed just perfect.

My first break came in around 18 miles, the weather was heating up, and my Hershey’s chocolate bar, which previously melted and morphed back into shape overnight, was beginning to melt again. I’m far from a candy person, but for a dollar on a hot day with a sweet tooth it was a must buy. I devoured most of the king-sized bar, and was left wishing I had graham crackers and marshmellows. I proceeded to brush my sugar-coated teeth, and moved on feeling energized from the sugar and sun. Rolling along, I spotted what seemed to be a blue cooler in the distance under a shaded structure, which seemed out of the norm. As I approached, I realized this may be more trail magic. A welcome cyclist sign directed me towards the blue cooler of gold, and as I opened the treasure chest, I found the booty. Ice cold water bottles, pop, and a bin full of snacks. Written on the lid was a lovely note, and an offer to shower behind the abandoned looking house. I questioned if this was real life. I noticed a floor pump dangling from the ceiling, and took some time to inflate my back wheel. There are such wonderful people out there.

After my fuel stop, I was feeling extremely happy and thankful. I made a turn down a road of bright green trees shading the downhill. I startled a cow that escaped the farm, and I laughed out loud thinking maybe he was completing the trans am too! Unfortunately, he was spooked by my presence, but really had no place to go but forward. He ran for at least a half mile, and I followed. I was deeply impressed with his endurance and speed, maybe it wasn’t his first rodeo. Eventually, we parted ways, and I waved goodbye to my moo new friend as he galloped away in the opposite direction.

There weren’t many services until about 40 miles in. I stopped at a dairy bar for a quick Chex mix snack, and moved on to Harrodsburg. I arrived at the library before noon. I prefer to wake up early, bang out 30 to 50 miles, and allow myself a good couple hours to chill out in a library or cafe. This is where most of my journaling happens, but also it’s when I figure out where to sleep for the night. There are two bikers a day ahead who I’d like to catch up with, so I knew the time was today to cut the gap. I wrapped up at the library, and headed to a local coffee shop to caffeinate this 30 mile ride. I noticed the wind had picked up since entering the lib, but I brushed it off. The cafe I chose once was a pharmacy, and a lot of the interior design fit the period it was trying to achieve. I ordered a coffee, filled that sucker to the tippy top, and chugged it quickly. I was absolutely feeling the effects, and I was excited to ride. After a few pictures, I hit the road. Headwinds. They came in around 10-15 mph I would guess. Some strong enough to rock my bike a bit, but I was feeling so good the wind didn’t even matter. The road had little to no shoulder, but drivers were thoughtful. I did experience one truck accelerate as soon as he got in front of me and shot out a black exhaust smog. It definitely was on purpose, but what can you do. Once the roads cleared, I put on the music, and that’s when the miles really flew by. Sometimes you just forget about the hills and wind, and just focus on the music. Those are the best times.

Eventually I made it to Springfield, Kentucky, where I was estactic to see a McDonald’s. At this point I still had zero idea where I was staying that night. I called the fire department to ask if I could sleep behind their building, but I was told that cyclists can sleep in the city park, which I always like. After that was settled, I ordered a coffee, making sure to specify no room for cream or sugar so I get maximum fillage! I noticed if I completed the survey on my receipt, I would receive a BYGOF sandwich. Taking advantage of the situation, I order an egg mcmuffin and received two. I knew the day would come that I dined with Mickey D’s, but the real deal will be when will I get a burger. Stay tuned. I freeloaded in the corner booth for a couple hours, and almost fell asleep laying there. At that point I forced myself to leave, and headed to the park. Dollar General popped up again, so I figured I would grab some food. Walking out, I found a $10 bill on the ground, woo! That’s a days worth of groceries, so I was psyched. As I approached the park, I noticed a baseball game was just getting started. Instantly I geeked out! I could eat some dinner and watch the game, it was such a pleasure. If I could end every night like this I would. As the sun went down, the lights lit the field. I used this time to set up my tent close to a pavilion. 10:30 pm snuck up on me, and I laid to rest with a smile on my face, dreaming about the next time I get to shower.

Stats

Total mileage: 828 ish miles

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0