It was quite a ride - Two Good Blokes tackle the Munda Biddi Trail - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2024

It was quite a ride

I’m sitting in a cafe in Fremantle some 2 days after finishing the ride. Pete went on to Perth yesterday and I’m meeting Cherie tonight. I’m feeling my way back into normal life, having just had a haircut and a cut-throat blade shave. As the barber remarked when I walked in “you look like you just robbed a bank”. I just need clothes that are not grey or beige, and that are not sand blasted and have no signs of pea gravel stains.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

My over riding memories of this trip are undoubtedly the forests, in which we were entwined (not immersed)  for the majority of the 4 weeks. Whilst there has obviously been extensive logging in the past we still seem to have ridden through extensive tracts of old growth forests. I was surprised by the lack of birdlife. The facilities along the Munda Biddi were superb with huts every 50 kilometres that were  clean, had freshwater and toilet facilities.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

The ride was a bit harder than I expected. I’d prepared my self for the pea gravel but under estimated the sand towards the end. Having had no rain in the past 6 months meant the sand drifts were much looser and less packed down than normal. Apart from a few very hot days at the start we had perfect weather. I think I counted 10 spots of rain one morning, had 1 cloudy day but the rest fell squarely in the bluebird category.

I’ve been asked by some people why I choose to bike tour the way I do when I can clearly afford to stay in hotels and eat out every night. I also ask myself the same question, particularly when things aren’t going well or I haven’t slept because someone’s snoring (ie Phillip). Having thought long and hard about this I would say I do it this way because of the unpredictability, the challenge, the simplicity and particularly the ability to meet people you wouldn’t ordinarily come across in day to day life.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Cycle touring gives me the perfect balance of solitude and social interaction with people who in the most part are always up for a chat, interesting and have a story to tell (but I draw the line at the Ralph’s of this world).  I’m heartened by the number of young solo travellers who are out there exploring the world in a sustainable way and economic way.

I’m not sure how Pete put up with me for 4 weeks but I certainly enjoyed his company, rational thought process and ability to solve my tech issues (such as how to get FaceTime video to work). I begrudgingly admit that he is better than me at Wordle.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

We’ve raised over $5,000 for Cancer Council research aided by Amy’s enthusiasm and commitment to the cause and some very generous donations from many people at home and along the journey.

I’m so lucky that  I have Cherie in my life and that she lets me wander off doing these adventures. I’m hopefully an easier person to live with for the 6 months immediately after returning from a trip before I start getting stir crazy again.

Thanks for reading the blog and corresponding with me, particularly Amy, 29 from Bungendore, Greg, 86 also from Bungendore and others scattered around the world.

Dennis

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Lyle McLeodIt was quite a ride, and it was a lot of fun to follow along!
Great journal, great ride, great blokes.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Mike AylingWhat a great ride!
Thanks for sharing it with us.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Rich FrasierThis was a super-enjoyable journal. Thanks for sharing it! And congratulations on finishing the trip and on your fund-raising, too!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Dennis LangleyTo Lyle McLeodThanks Lyle
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Dennis LangleyTo Rich FrasierThanks for following Rich
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Dennis LangleyTo Mike AylingThanks for following Mike
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Rosie WindsorI ‘ ve loved this trip and are so happy you are inspired to keep doing this. You will have stories “from your mouth” for ever ( the latter is what Pascoe loves from me at bedtime …. “tell me a story from your mouth”)
🩷🩷🩷🩷🩷🚴🏼🚴🏼🚴🏼🚴🏼🚴🏼
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago