Three flat Tires on Two Bikes in 20 Hours: Bike Tube Shopping in Bedoin - Poking Around Europe on our Bikes - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2014

Three flat Tires on Two Bikes in 20 Hours: Bike Tube Shopping in Bedoin

It was great to wake up in Provence. The four of us headed to the nearby town of Bedoin to pick up bikes for Ken and Val and to check out the market. We came back with cheeses, tapenade and grapes for appies and paella for dinner. Yum, yum.

Then, what a surprise. When we went to hop on the ponies Keith's front tire was flat. Since it was his rear tire yesterday, we knew he must have ridden through something, which got Val and I to thinking. Since I usually ride behind could it mean I had a problem? Over to my bike. Front tire was as solid as a rock, but the back tire was flat as a pancake. What did we ride through? Thorns. Teeny tiny baby thorns and lots of them. I pulled six out of my still inflated front tire alone. The rear tires carry the weight of the panniers, and us, so I suppose that is why both our rear tires went. I was glad I had tweezers in the first aid kit because the thorns would have been impossible to remove without them. Keith and I were into a patching situation as we only brought one spare tube each, so Ken and Val went for a spin on their bikes while Keith and I searched for thorns and punctures and patched. We got Keith's tire together and the valve failed. Keith was very calm about the whole situation. At this point we were both so incredibly grateful to be in sunny Provence, in a lovely spot with friends with a car, and not on the side of the highway in the pouring rain.

When Ken and Val returned Keith and Ken went to the bike shop in Bedoin for spare tubes and patches. Back at the ranch, Val and I visited and when the boys returned the poor ponies received the TLC they deserved. Keith will soon be able to give tire change clinics at the local bike shop. The four of us fuelled up on snacks, and were finally on our way. We had an amazing ride unloaded...I felt like I was dancing up the hills. It is astonishing the difference between a loaded bike and an unloaded one. I truly felt like a winged fairy. We stopped for a beer and moving my bike into the bike rack I nearly tossed the back end of the bike into the stratosphere it was so light. Bliss! When those panniers go back on there will be a little whining I think. It was a great ride.

Wine, cheese and a paella that didn't disappoint. We had a lovely evening. Predictions are for more good weather tomorrow. We are so lucky.

Carillon le Brave. When we were coming into Caromb I was worried that C le B was Caromb...note the hillside location. I was very happy when we turned right. The flaky GPS took us to Ken and Val by the mountain goat route again though, so we probably did just as much climbing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Chien of the Day. Monty, who is the same breed as Keith's family dog when he was growing up. That dog was named Lassie. Really, truly, they named a Boston Bull Terrier Lassie. That sort of thing happens when you put the kids in charge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dinner. It was just as good as it looks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wonderful market.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chaos for the poor ponies and the chief navigator.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My lovely Black Beauty awaiting attention.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the road at last. We love these narrow alleys in the towns.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A little fellow having a rest on the bike path. No lawn chair available so he lay down. Reminded us of the sun bathing mole. Was very still as well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This one is for you Joanne. Not a great picture but there are two kissing doves in that tree!
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A chicken at the villa. We have the freshest eggs you can get.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 1,083 km (673 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0