Planes and Adventures at Airport Security: Frankfurt to Calgary to Victoria - Poking Around Europe on our Bikes - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2014

Planes and Adventures at Airport Security: Frankfurt to Calgary to Victoria

We had lots of time before our flight this morning, and so we dropped off the bikes at the check in desk, went for breakfast and then relaxed in the room until it was time to go. The line up for security was long, and then to ensure a longer process I left my Kindle in my handlebar bag. At home this is okay, but not in Frankfurt. So it had to be rescreened. I apologized profusely, however, it would be helpful if there was a clear list for passengers. They asked that computers be taken out...I didn't think of my Kindle as a computer. And trust me, it is such an old one it isn't! My smartphone, on the other hand, is a computer, and it wasn't an issue at all. Go figure. Once through security we had to pass through passport control, then immigration and then finally through the gate where our passports were scanned one more time. We had two full hours from the time we lined up for security, and we didn't have a whole lot of time to spare.

The flight so far has been uneventful, and with no turbulence. I have watched two and a quarter movies...one was dreadful, and I am wide awake. It is a 9 hour and 55 minute flight so we have a way to go yet. Next time I am bringing drugs. Pharmaceuticals I mean!! Trust me, bikes are a better way to travel, but in this case it would be hard to cross the Atlantic and it is the wrong time of year to bike across Canada. I am rambling because I am bored. I will shut the iPad now! To be continued...

Calgary provided a little bit of drama as we were seated towards the back of the plane and as a result, the end of the customs line. By the time we cleared we had about a half hour to catch our connecting flight. First we picked up the bikes and the helpful customs agent helped us move his barricade so we could get them out of the baggage area. Then the dash to drop them off at oversize luggage for screening. Would you believe my bike box got stuck in the machine? What a great way to decrease the chances you will catch your flight. The screening guy gave Keith a pole to push on one end while he pulled on the other. I was sent sprinting to the Air Canada counter to let them know of our dilemma. They phoned the gate and I sprinted back to find Keith and the security guy on the same side of the barrier madly opening the boxes, and then taping them back up. The security guy was awesome. Once the bikes had the OK we ran for security, were put in the priority line up, and both our bags failed their pass through the machine. Was it my Kindle or my iPad? Nope. Neither of those are a problem in Canada. It was the chocolate, which was not a problem in Frankfurt. In Keith's case it was the dollar store corkscrew, which also wasn't a problem in Frankfurt. Finally cleared, and without the corkscrew, we dashed to the gate and actually made the flight. One last incredible stroke of good fortune this trip, the flight was 15 minutes late, and that saved the day.

Our boys picked us up at the airport...it was great to see them. The ponies made the flight as well, much to our surprise, and are reassembled and ready to ride. It was a fantastic trip. We plan to write some reflections in the next day or two, and then start planning next year.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0