Blue skies! - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

January 2, 2022

Blue skies!

Jacinto's ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today is our last full day in Tucson. I wimped out on temperatures. I stalled until almost noon, when the thermometer hit 50 degrees. The blue sky today was most welcome. Water in the wash was slowly going down. There were even more walkers out today. It was a bit difficult to navigate the path. I'm still not seeing many (any) cute dog set ups this year. Perhaps last year was special and I just didn't know it? I saw double or triple the bicycle riders today than the past couple of days. That says nothing, as there have been few cyclists in the cold weather. Today I saw ~10 trikes - the most the entire trip. I didn't see a single two wheeled recumbent. I saw a hand cyclist today, a woman. I saw a male hand cyclist a few days ago. 

It was zero degrees at home this morning. It's going to be hard to return to those temperatures. If we didn't have plane tickets, I would be tempted to stay an extra week or so. I will be back in three weeks. I might hibernate the entire time!  It has been on the news about flights being canceled because of airline employees out sick with COVID. Indeed, Kurt's flight back to Denver on Southwest was canceled today. He is now going out on Tuesday. Our American flight was just confirmed. It looks like we are good to go. 

My plan is to take a little spin in the morning. Jacinto isn't for that plan, as he would like to load the bikes tonight. He told me I should ride extra today. Then I would have the same miles in. I wanted to stretch my legs before having to sit on the plane. I have it all figured out. I can ride as far as possible, as long as I'm back by 11 AM. 

We are negotiating all food items in the fridge, and when they need to be eaten. There are seven eggs, we are counting! 

I'm going to enjoy every sweet mile tomorrow morning, even if I have to leave in the cold.

The blocked road did not keep vehicles from driving through. There was enough mud to deter cyclists.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was happy the wind wasn’t blowing today. This Russian thistle (thank you Spoon), could take out a cyclist!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNasty invasive (naturalized) commonly called a tumbleweed... along with many other species. Amazing how huge they can get.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kali_tragus
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Wayne EstesI've seen them blown against fences in a pile 6 feet high, but never saw a single bush that big. Wow!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 585 miles (941 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonHave a safe trip back, and keep warm!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonSome day, we would like to sit down with you and hear all about Spain and Portugal!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago