How I Plan to Spend My Week - Revisiting the Trip of a Lifetime - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2018

How I Plan to Spend My Week

If you absolutely are going to insist on riding against traffic and without a helmet on, you should perhaps strongly consider not doing so in front of the semi-permanent Traffic Police Tent. People who have been caught for the first time are forced to stand on the corner 'directing traffic' while wearing the Sash of Shame.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Some really bad, really weird, shit happened to me about three months ago and, to be honest, even though no one official has said word one to me about it since shortly after it happened, it's something that is still taking up space in my head and probably will be for a long time. However, after the bizarre random bit of truly awful awfulness concluded, the universe—which was being pretty nice to me already—seems to have overcompensated by being seventeen kinds of super wonderful. 

Not that I actually believe that the universe repays karma that quickly, or even at all. But, it sure does feel that way sometimes. 

My life and business are going better than my wildest dreams, and, in an almost Nietzschean ideal of "that which does not kill me makes me stronger,"  that horrible act of awful has given me a whole new appreciation for the really good things in life. I haven't had this much gratitude for the simple things since the whole experience eighteen years ago of waking up in Intensive Care very definitely 'not dead'.

I go for massage more often. I work out at the gym. I go out of my way to eat my favorite foods. I've reconnected with lots of old friends. I try to spend more time with people I like. I donate money to worthy people like this website's developer. 

Considering the time and money that had to have gone into creating my awful experience, I have to assume that what happened to me was not so much "entirely random" as it was "entirely pre-meditated" and I have to assume that, at some point, the person responsible will be reading this so, dear mystery person: "I don't know why you hate me. I don't know why you did what you did. You are sad and pathetic and probably mentally ill. I pity you. And by the way, if you can't do the world a favor by committing suicide, please go fuck yourself with a red hot poker."

In preparation for the trip, worn out components on my bike like the rear rim and the bottom bracket have been replaced. I have a new non-telephoto zoom for my itty-bitty mirrorless camera (which, even though I haven't gotten around to replacing it, I still hate). I've recently bought a new coffee grinder and a new phone (as much for ordinary reasons like a cracked screen and reduced battery life as for out-of-the-ordinary reasons like wanting to be certain I was using something that didn't have spyware installed).

Tomorrow, assuming that I don't have too much work, after my weekly lunch with the Christians, I plan to start packing. Mostly just picking the jerseys to bring with me and finding my gloves. I'll take my sandals to be mended and I'll buy new bike shorts at Decathlon. I've also got to sort the fridge goodies like the Sour Jacks and Skor bars I've been holding on to for the past 8 months so that I can get periodic Care Packages on the Road from my assistant Kaylee.

Monday morning I'm off to the hospital in the hopes of getting Diamox for the parts of the trip that hit altitude. One of the hospitals on the far side of town said they might be able to get me a prescription. If they can't, I have a good month in which to try to get a friend in a higher altitude city (like Kunming) to try to get it for me. 

Then, on Monday afternoon, I'll buy my airline tickets both for Spain and Beijing. I already know which flights I plan to be on but, I prefer to wait until after I have my passport in hand. I can't think of any particular reason why things would have gotten this far along in the process only for the Public Security Bureau to not give me my passport back on Monday but, things happen sometimes, and I've known people—hell, I've been people—who went on the appointed day only to be told "not just yet".

Tuesday will be a mix of working too much to try to finish the current project and squat day at the gym. 

Wednesday, I don't know. Probably lots of work. Also, making sure my bike gets packed.

Thursday, a final drink with friends and making the rounds of my apartment to figure out what I missed.

Friday - Beijing.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachel and Patrick HugensHi Marian
Another question how you set up your journal. How did you get the big headings like background pre trip...and then the subheadings
Racpat
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Marian RosenbergHonestly, without being in the middle of writing a journal, I wouldn't be able to tell you off the top of my head. I think it's one of the drop down formatting options.... in terms of text customization, cycleblaze is not as 'friendly' as that other site was.

(On the other hand, my text customization is one of the reasons that the cycleblaze parser hasn't been able to reformat most of my journals and put them online here.)

For the table of contents, when you create an entry, you can choose to make it an entry or a header. It's a bit annoying though with headers because you have to remember to go and open them again and mark them as visible to the public.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago