Shopping - Revisiting the Trip of a Lifetime - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2018

Shopping

Difficult as it may be to believe, I may have had too much caffeine today. I wasn't actually shaking or stuttering like that time I kept making rounds of Turkish coffee for my friends and giving myself a shot out of every round, but with two bottles of Coke 0 and two double shot cappuccinos, I was seriously running on more cylinders that I've got for running on.

I want to say I got around four or five thousand words of translation done but mostly I just cleaned up files, fixed non-displaying segments, and confirmed context matches for overall consistency. The real work will be when my colleague Jake sends me his current big file for review and verification.

It's about as interesting as you'd expect from files with names like "03-05-2.docx" and "04-02-2.pptx"
Heart 0 Comment 0

In between things that pay me money, I went shopping at Decathlon and I started packing.

I love Decathlon.

Like, seriously, none of the clothing they have is exactly what I'd call "nice" sports clothing but it's all very much "acceptable" quality and the prices are crazy cheap. For CNY 719 (that's a shade over USD 100) I got the following:

  • A BTwin (house brand) branded wireless odometer
  • A BTwin branded pair of cycling sunglasses (that fit!) with 3 sets of changeable lenses and a carrying case
  • An unbranded XL dayglo green windbreaker
  • A Kalenji (house brand) pink headscarf
  • An unbranded pair of cycling gloves
  • 3 pairs of bike shorts that fit (two unbranded, one BTwin)
  • 1 pair (BTwin) that I've decided doesn't actually fit but which might fit after I lose some weight and which I'm not going to return
  • 3 pairs of L/R cycling socks in three different color combos so I won't accidentally try to match L with L or R with R.
  • An unpadded pair of quickdri 'running shorts' that I can wear over the two pairs of bike shorts which I think are slightly too transparent for my comfort

My very first jersey and bike shorts combo which I bought from the Giant on Jiefang Road way back in 2005 cost me CNY 400 (about USD 60 at the time). Now, to be fair, the materials and workmanship quality probably were better than most of the stuff I bought today but not hugely significantly amazingly better.

Going through my wardrobe of things I already own, I decided to:

  • Throw out my manky bib shorts from 2017
  • Throw out my mangled Giant shorts from 2017
  • Pack my Pearl Izumi shorts bought in the US in 2014 and my cheap-o—many times mended—Merida shorts from halfway across China in 2017
  • Put my regular tights and thermal bibs (both from Decathlon back in 2012) to the side to be mailed to me in November along with a long sleeved silk knit underlayer
  • Pack 1 thermal jersey (Polygon Sweet Nice Racing), 1 thermal vest, and 4 regular jerseys (VeloChina, Shimano, Sanya, and Thorny Rose). I wanted my Marco Polo Cycling jersey instead of the Thorny Rose but I didn't see it and couldn't be bothered to look
  • Pack two sleeves (out of the three I found) which, if you squint right, might possibly look like a pair
  • Pack a pair of Giant gloves
  • Pack the headscarf I bought in Vietnam
  • Pick the 3 t-shirts whose 'on the road' destruction will bother me the least while, simultaneously, also being clothing I might want to wear.

I've also told Kaylee to order me some UHT heavy cream for my road coffee, tested my new Hario hand grinder, organized cookie packages from the American Bakery, and booked a place to stay in Beijing (which it now looks like I'm probably going to cancel in favor of an air mattress on the floor at Myf's Beijing apartment).
Did I mention Myf is visiting China?
And will be in Beijing while I'm there?
Or that Zaiming might come up from Shanghai if both of us are in Beijing at the same time?

I'm so super excited about all of this.

Today's ride: 1 km (1 miles)
Total: 1 km (1 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0