Sunday, Jun 1: Traunstein - Salzburg, Austria: - Achtung Baby: Bavaria with a GPS & Some Great Canadian Gear (Tour 13) - 2014 🇩🇪 🇦🇹 🇨🇭 - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2014

Sunday, Jun 1: Traunstein - Salzburg, Austria:

THAT sad feeling at the end of the cycling tour.

We were supposed to get rain overnight though I did not hear a thing. Though we did indeed get the rain, when I woke up it was mostly sunny with a few clouds here and there. Perfect.

After a very good breakfast we loaded up for the last time then rolled out around 8:45 am. It was the dance of the gps once again, but we finally exited the city to one heck of a climb. I know that I was wondering what we were in for on this last day. A continuous ladder-like climb all the way to Salzburg? Well, that did not really materialize. Though there were a number of tough climbs, they were all quite manageable. Nothing got the best of us.

At one point we were leapfrogging a few German couples who were out for a day trip to Salzburg. We kind of dawdled in order to drag out this final day. And oh, was it spectacular.

We thought Camryn might like these pics. At one point the gps sent us out through a jungle bush ride where we had to push the bikes up a semi-cliff on a mucky and goopy trail. Where we emerged was Bugs and his friends.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another time the gps had us make a hard left turn onto an 'unpaved path'. I'll say. It started out kind of nice alongside the forest. Until it became a rocky path. And then a mucky drop through the bush with streams running down the tracks that we were supposed to ride in. A mountain bike path cut through the thick bush with a few tough climbs that might have been better with a helicopter to airlift us to the end.

I exaggerate. Somewhat. It was really beautiful and only about a km long. It emerged along a farm with some caged bunnies so we took some pics for Camryn to see. The rolling hills continued.

Seeing that it was the final day of cycling, we stopped fairly often to drink in the views of the green hills, the craggy Alps and the ribbon road that snaked up and over each hill. Some hills were long but all were stunningly beautiful.

Then there was the border into Osterreich... Austria. And the edge of Salzburg. I had pics taken of me at the border with my Mondetta jersey in a celebratory pose. It will be uploaded once I get home since I haven't the means right now. The jersey suited its purpose quite well and showed my Canadianism as long as it was not covered up on colder days. I made sure my little Canadian flag was showing on those days. The jersey was a great means of showing off the country without overdoing it. Mondetta, you have a great jersey here and should market it to cyclists... with one caveat. The sizing of the jerseys is not like cycling jerseys. That is ok if they are hanging on the rack, but to order them I think they will be improperly sized. I am wearing the medium size and usually take a medium, but it is somewhat baggy on me. But please, Mondetta, market them to cyclists as they are perfect for us.

We made our way to the Salzach River and then there was Hohensalzburg in all its glory looking down over the city. Numerous photo moments ensued as we followed the river, then eventually crossed over a bridge through the park then to our hotel, Best Western Imlauer. The room was not ready so we stored the bikes and bags (no problem, whatsoever) then headed out toward the Augustiner Brauhof. It was closed but a restaurant nearby was happy to serve us a traditional Austrian meal of roast pork, dumplings and sauerkraut. Then when it opened at 2:30 pm we made our way to the brauhof where I had last been in 1992. Some of it looked familiar, but lots did not. Nonetheless, we got a stein, had it filled, then enjoyed it in the courtyard on a pleasant day, under the huge leafy canopy.

It was time to check in to the hotel so we zipped over - quite nice - then checked our messages and such. After sorting things out we went around the corner to the bahnof where the guys bought their tickets to Munich for Wednesday. It seems that it will be pretty easy. Go up on the elevator, load the bike on the marked train, label it, then get into the numbered seat. Tuesday will be seeing me from Salzburg to Munich in this manner.

We went to the Spar grocery store in the station to pick up a splash of wine, some cheese and some linzertorte. Finally. The question is why do I not just pull a recipe from the internet like anything else I make? I can be so silly!

"I'm only happy when it rains." by Garbage. The station just started the song then jumped to news. Grrrr. Fixed that with Youtube.

As I was relaxing here in the room, I looked over something for fun. I wondered to myself how far it is from Barcelona to Bilbao, in Spain. As it turns out, about 620 km. About twelve days of cycling, two rest days, a day to get there and a day to get back, and a few days to enjoy both end cities, for a total of about 19 days. Thus, three weeks for a great cycling trip in Spain. I wonder if anyone is interested.

And finally for today... I started with a quote from a Rodgers and Hammerstein musical. The only thing is, coming into Salzburg from the northwest, there are not really any mountains. Beautiful rolling hills, but no mountains to climb. No water to ford. But it doesn't really matter does it? That soundtrack cannot help but play in the mind's mp3 player as one approaches and is in this musical city. Salzburg. Ahhhh.

The Raleigh geared up for the final day of real touring on this trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the best views of the day barely out of town in the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And then the GPS sent us on an offroad excursion.
Heart 0 Comment 0
But then the offroad became a hike through a slight stream.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And emerged into this awesome little spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Re-convening along better roads.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Last few views of Germany before reaching Austria.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Note the excellent Mondetta jersey I used on this trip - review posted at the end of the journal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hurray - we made it!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And so did my bike, despite the small chainring issue.
Heart 0 Comment 0
See the cool outrigger mirrors I used on this trip? Kind of silly looking but since I had nowhere to attach mirrors on the bike I thought I would try these sunglass-attached mirrors. Once I got used to them, they were excellent.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hohensalzburg as we turned to follow the river to the city centre.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the bridge we crossed with the thousands of locks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking up to the Augustiner brauhof.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Augustiner.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Augustiner was not open yet so we stopped into a traditional Austrian resturant for lunch and... a beer. Nowhere near as good as German beer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Once it opened, we headed back up the hill to the Augustiner for a sample of beer and a rest in the courtyard.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder how many draughts this guy pulls in a single work shift!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beer hall had no room for us, but I wanted a photo of the place I had visited back in 1992.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Food was abundantly available in the hallway just outside of the beer hall.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 km (25 miles)
Total: 619 km (384 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0