Monday, May 19: Arrival to Flughafen, Zurich, Switzerland - Bruttisellen: Unpacking & assembling the bike and a little warmup ride - Achtung Baby: Bavaria with a GPS & Some Great Canadian Gear (Tour 13) - 2014 🇩🇪 🇦🇹 🇨🇭 - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2014

Monday, May 19: Arrival to Flughafen, Zurich, Switzerland - Bruttisellen: Unpacking & assembling the bike and a little warmup ride

I could not believe it. The bike box was in almost perfect shape, and it was the first thing delivered from our plane. Swiss efficiency at its best.

Not quite a real flag of Switzerland. Nevertheless a symbol of the country where I currently am.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Did anyone see this on Amazing Race 24? They arrived to this airport before heading off to Sevilla.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was cool seeing the airport that had been featured in Amazing Race 24 only two weeks ago (air date). In no time I was in the lobby and pulling everything out of my box. Re-assembly was quicker than I expected, so I was on the way with host Urs as he had ridden his bike into the airport to pick up some of his items that had been left there.

Cycling away from the flughafen, the buildings diminished, and the views of the Alps to the south increased and impressed. A sunny and warm day through rolling green hills of Switzerland is a wee bit better than snow falling and ice on the lakes. And did I say the Alps were right there and beautiful?

First glimpses of the Alps from my accommodations.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Despite having little training, the 7 km ride to the town was quite pleasant. Tomorrow should be similar and possibly even fewer hills as I head away from the mountains and toward the Lake and the Rhine.

What would a trip be without Alex's little Pookie alongside me?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have both a map of the cycle paths to Konstanz, the gps plus my brain to get me there.

AP shot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

2242h Update: Feeling a bit edgy about tomorrow's long ride. I have directions to get to the bike path but...

Can you tell I am flower and grass starved after the really long winter we had in northern Ontario?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Kind of immature of me, but I kind of giggled to myself when I saw this. Is there any such thing?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 km (4 miles)
Total: 7 km (4 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0