Finally riding the trike - Baja ramble - CycleBlaze

February 6, 2022

Finally riding the trike

Back to the bike. I left Ajo Bikes and was heading back towards the campus area. I was thinking of riding one of the long trails that followed the washes. I wasn’t sure exactly where they were located. When I lived in Tucson before, I rode my bike a lot but I guess I’d never been on those trails. 

I thought why not just park by my old house close to Himmel Park and ride from there.  I found the park and unloaded them bike. I’d lived in the Sam Hughes neighborhood before and really loved the beautiful old house and the desert landscaping. 

I hopped on the bike and took my first pedal strokes that weren’t in a small parking lot. The first time I rode a trike was 15 years ago and I didn’t like it much. I think the trike was way too low for me and a terrible fit. I was hoping that my own trike that I just spent a good chunk of change on was a better fit……thankfully it was!


The bike felt a bit like my tour easy and a bit different. It felt slow compared to my tour easy and the movement of the bike over cracks in the pavement was a strange back and forth motion. 

Id say it felt like the difference between a catamaran and a monohull sailboat. Unfortunately without the speed of the catamaran! What it had in common with my Tour Easy was I felt like I could ride around the world on it. The bike had a solid build quality, I was comfortable, my view was great, no neck and shoulder pain and I could text while I rode! 

I know this because as I was taking my first ride I kept snapping pics on my phone and sending them off to people! 

Riding through the campus. I love the huge palm trees.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool old truck and a beautiful blue sky.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Love this house
Heart 1 Comment 0
My old house!
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of my favorite things about the southwest is citrus in the winter.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLove the blossom aroma!

Those look like ornamental oranges. Wow, are they sour! Seedy too.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
This has all my favorite things , old adobe house, cool van, and a VW.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 8 miles (13 km)
Total: 190 miles (306 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0