Day one….the bike. - Baja ramble - CycleBlaze

Day one….the bike.

Picking up my bike today and my first trike ride.

Today was the day. Today I picked up my trike. I’d been planning some sort of crazy adventure for the past year. It ranged from a Thru hike, to a long distance sail in a tiny sailboat. My plans changed so often I was embarrassed to talk to anyone about the trip anymore. 

Somehow bike touring Baja won and somehow a trike beat out a fat bike as my choice of mount for the exploration. 

Yesterday I spent the better part of four hours trying trikes out. I hate shopping and I really hate window shopping. I felt like a window shopper. 

The sales guy was an older guy. He reminded me of a friend of mine so I liked him right away.  He was funny and brash. He didn’t make me feel like a moron even as I could never figure out the right way to mount the bike. ….yeah I’m going to cycle off to Mexico in a week but I hardly know how to sit on the bike. 

This morning I rushed off to Phx to return my Turo rental car. It was a Honda Insight, a really nice car. You wouldn’t even have  known it’s a hybrid. It wouldn’t fit my trike so I had to  go to phoenix to return that car and pick up another car.  This time a Ford Transit connect van. 

I picked up the van and after a quick stop for coffee and donuts I hit the road back to Tucson.  I picked the bike up from the sales guy named Chris and it was almost anti climatic. For more money than most people spend on their first car, you don’t even get a manual. 

Loaded up in the van. Not the best choice for compact travel but what can you do.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bike ready for our maiden voyage.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was itching to try out the bike and I decided to go for a ride in my old Neighborhood not far from the ASU campus .

Not only was this the first time I got to go for a real ride on my bike. It was also the first time I’d ride a trike further than around the parking lot of the bike store. 

I hopped on the bike and took off. It felt weird but comfortable. 


I’ll talk more about my first ride next post I guess.  

Today's ride: 8 miles (13 km)
Total: 206 miles (332 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kelly IniguezHi Dom,

It’s great to see you here! Tell us more about outfitting your bike-racks,panniers, etc

Will you ride to the border or drive? We want to hear the WHOLE story!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen JonesYou are going to have so much fun on that trike.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen JonesAnd thanks for being another triker on this site.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Dominic RomerTo Kelly IniguezIt will get better with time!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago