Day 5: Punta Colonet to Valle Tranquilo - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 2, 2014

Day 5: Punta Colonet to Valle Tranquilo

Heart 0 Comment 0

I left my hotel at 6:30 am, with mild hopes of reaching El Rosario, some 75 miles distant. I was expecting an easier ride than the previous day, simply because there wasn't as much climbing involved. What I hadn't counted on was the all the traffic! The stretch from Calamu to Lazaro Cardenas was essentially a constant stream of cars and trucks in both direction. The noise and need to be constantly vigilant made it more stressful than fun, although it did have its moments.

After Lazaro Cardenas things calmed considerably and it was pleasant riding. However it was clear I wouldn't make it to El Rosario before dark. I ended up camping on a cliff next to the beach in Valle Tranquilo, a tiny fishing community of about a dozen homes.

Setting out from hotel, still blissfully ignorant of the traffic that was to come.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The fields south of Colonet are peppered with these huge tents.
Heart 0 Comment 0
They are massive.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rosario explained that they grow tomatoes inside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These are very common. They are schools where the teacher is on the other end of a satellite connection.
Heart 0 Comment 0
They are massive.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Calamu
Heart 0 Comment 0
Strawberries
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots and lots of strawberries
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hmm
Heart 0 Comment 0
This gives a good sense of the ride from Calamu to Lazaro Cardenas
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not fun!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here for a crescent wrench to adjust my front brake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some motivational words underneath the graffiti
Heart 0 Comment 0
Corn and cones, south of Lazero Cardenas. Life is good again.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This fellow had a little bit of everything for sale. I bought a copper petroglyph thingy which I've already managed to pretzel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Near Los Pinos, another large agricultural center
Heart 0 Comment 0
Much more pleasant
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was clear I wasn't going to make it to El Rosario before dark, so I started looking for places to camp. I considered heading down one of these roads, but was worried about having to backtrack if they proved unsuitable.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking north at the volcanoes near San Quintin
Heart 0 Comment 0
There is just one store in Valle Tranquilidad. You pull the bell on the side to call the owner from the house next door.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The store had no beer, but the owner was nice enough to share some from her fridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found a spot on a cliff next to the beach, behind the village. Those are sea urchin fishermen. Their dad came by my camp to watch them load the panga. They export the sea urchins to Japan, and the beach gravel to the US.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 258 miles (415 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0