Day 4: Santo Tomas to Punta Colonet - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 1, 2014

Day 4: Santo Tomas to Punta Colonet

Heart 0 Comment 0

The noise last night was incredible, what with the trucks on the highway on one side and the cacophony of barking dogs on the other. And roosters at 4 am. I'm glad I didn't pay for the hotel room, I don't expect it was any quieter.

The lack of sleep didn't seem to matter however. In fact, today was the most pleasant riding so far. It was overcast most of the day and that made a huge difference.

The scene this morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of my alarm clocks
Heart 0 Comment 0
It doesn't show as well as I'd would like, but the tree in front of this house is full of ornaments.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was flat for the first few miles, then a good climb to get the blood flowing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This time I was encouraged to take the new road, and was able to cut out a bit of the crowded climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
All mine
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don't leave stones on the pavement
Heart 0 Comment 0
Like this?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Actually, this is a picture from my failed shortcut yesterday. I can't say I wasn't warned.

Dona Lala's country store. I had such a pleasant break here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cheese was delicious, and in the back the girls were making fresh tortillas. I had a couple of quesadillas.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dona Lala's patio
Heart 0 Comment 0
San Vicente, BC. This is a pretty typical view of the towns here. The paved highway going down the middle and then dirt to the shops and whatnot on the sides. It must be nasty when it rains (I hope I don't find out).
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
a little bit of erosion
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vineyards have given way to cactus farms. There were several of these.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of beer for sale, but not much else. Too early for beer, so I had a lukewarm coke.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a very pleasant hotel on the south end of Colonet. I was given the government rate because I rode up on a bike. Nice!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 201 miles (323 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0