Day 6: Valle Tranquilo to El Rosario - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 3, 2014

Day 6: Valle Tranquilo to El Rosario

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up at 6 am after a night of little sleep. I had expected I'd be lulled by the pounding of the surf, but no such luck. It was too warm for the the sleeping bag and too cool without it. I'm such a Goldilocks!

No matter, today was going to be a short day. I couldn't be bothered with fixing breakfast and just had a couple of crackers before tackling the 20 miles to El Rosario.

One of the houses in Valle Tranquilidad
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I should have had breakfast
Heart 0 Comment 0
Military checkpoint at the top of the hill. There have been a few of these, and I just get waved through.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The last three miles to El Rosario are fast and fun
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was glad to arrive. This is the last bit of civilization until Guerrero Negro and I was ready to take a break.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I stopped here for quesadillas, beans and rice, my new favorite breakfast. I asked the ladies running the place to recommended a hotel and they sent me to the Turista, about a mile past edge of town. It proved to be an excellent choice and I returned here later for more food and to thank them for the suggestion. This was taken on that visit, after I had offloaded my bags at the hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hot shower, wifi and I even got to use the washing machine. All for $25. I would not have ridden this far out of town had it not been for the recommendation. The best part is you can barely hear the traffic,
Heart 0 Comment 0
I hit it off with the ladies at the restaurant and they invited me to come back later for bunelos and hot chocolate. It rained in the meantime but at 6 pm it had stopped so I headed back. I haven't been on the streets at night and needed to be reminded that Christmas is coming.
Heart 0 Comment 0
She told me her name but it was quickly pushed out of my head. I have started writing down names. When I remember to do so.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 278 miles (447 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0