Days 24-25: Cabo San Lucas to San Diego - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 22, 2014

Days 24-25: Cabo San Lucas to San Diego

I took a hotel next to the bus terminal and in the morning got there an hour before the scheduled departure. I wanted to have plenty of time to figure out the procedure in case there were issues with my wanting to take my bike on the bus. It turned out to be straightforward. I had to remove the front wheel and then everything got jammed underneath with all the boxes and suitcases. The bus made many stops along the way and I always got out to try to keep the bike safe from stuff getting tossed on top of it, and was more or less successful. I decided not to stress too much about it, as there wasn't much I could do and even if there was damage it couldn't affect the ride at this point. And, as it turned out, everything arrived just fine (except for my stem cap clock that evidently fell out at some point... no great loss, it was stuck at 9:01 since Guerrero Negro).

The big surprise to me was the military checkpoints. Coming down I was used to getting waved through with nary a glance (autos too, it seemed) but on the way north things were much more serious. Several times we all had to disembark for bag searches. In one instance we sat on the bus while all the baggage was removed, and then had to go stand next to our bags while a sniffer dog came through. In another we stood next to a table to wait for our bag to be removed from the bus and then opened and inspected. At each stop a soldier would board the bus and inspect all the overhead bins and ask random people where they were from, what they did for a living, where they were going and why. This happened three times, the last two in the wee hours of the morning. I was never questioned by a soldier, but in La Paz some official came on board and asked me, and only me, for my papers.

Taking the bus back was a marvelous idea, I have concluded. It was a nice way to "rewind" the whole experience and get my head in the right place for my return to normal life. I very much enjoyed looking out the window and recognizing *everything*. Truly a nice way to conclude this adventure.

Big Volvo busses. This was taken during the stop in La Paz.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike as packed in Cabo San Lucas. It went through several iterations during the trip, as passengers got on and off and at the military checkpoints.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Movies playing almost constantly. US films dubbed in Spanish.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Angel (and her dad) sat on my left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A couple of non-angels "sat" in front. They were part of a group of three adults and four kids occupying four seats of physical space and half the mental space of the bus.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Approaching Sierra de la Giganta. It looked so much steeper on the way down than it felt riding up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Loreto
Heart 0 Comment 0
Night on the bus
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunrise as we leave Valle de Los Cirios. Perfect.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back in northern Baja
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lunch break in Ensenada
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bike reassembled in the Tijuana bus terminal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heading towards "la linea"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bikes have to go as pedestrians. This put an end to a cottage industry where you used to be able to rent a bike, pedal to the front of the huge line of cars and return the bike at the border.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It took me three hours to get across.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was 5:30 and getting dark (and cold) when I finally walked onto the streets of San Ysidro so I abandoned my original idea of biking the 35ish miles from the border to my house. Instead I just tossed the bags and bike on the trolley before the doors closed, and then city bus from downtown to home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back home. It was a really nice ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0