Day 3: Valle de Gaudalupe to Santo Tomas - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

November 30, 2014

Day 3: Valle de Gaudalupe to Santo Tomas

Heart 0 Comment 0
I slept well and was on the road by 8 am. I had only a light breakfast of my rolls from yesterday, because this morning I was on a mission!
Heart 0 Comment 0
That has to be the largest grape vine I've ever seen.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaving the Valle de Guadalupe
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice downhill ride to El Sauzal, outside of Ensenada.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Prosthetic legs being advertised
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Don't you leave, tasty kisses" signed 'Ensenada Poetry Action"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Welcome to Ensenada I used to work in the building in the background.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first job after grad school was at CICESE. Taught introductory seismology and together with Javier started construction of the RESNOR seismic network.
Heart 0 Comment 0
But no time for nostalgia. This was my goal for the morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ceviche!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
These girls were vigorously rehearsing for some sort of event in the park across the street.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road out of Ensenada was all mine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Except when it wasn't.
Heart 0 Comment 0
P and I stopped here a few weeks ago when I made a reconnaissance drive here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My cloth belt wasn't cutting it, so Vicente sold me a nice leather one in Maneadero.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm on Mexico 1 now, the transpennisular highway. No navigation required. These are my next three stops.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was really hoping I didn't have to pay this back on the other side, and was happy to find to road level off around the curve.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coming into Santo Tomas. I ended up spending the night on the far side of the valley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There isn't much to Santo Tomas. A few restaurants and a couple of hotels.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The restaurant had a hotel and RV park across the street. I took a look at the rooms but found them overpriced and opted for the RV park. It was huge and empty, with just me and the dogs, and chickens.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 154 miles (248 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0