Day 2: Tecate to Valle de Guadalupe - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

November 29, 2014

Day 2: Tecate to Valle de Guadalupe

Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept rather poorly last night, mostly because everything is all so new (mentally, physically, geographically) that my mind would not shut off.

I had an OK breakfast of huevos rancheros at a restaurant down the street, and then stopped off at the bakery to grab some rolls to carry all day and not eat.

About 7 am I headed out of town,.

The road out of Tecate was like this much of the way, but traffic was light and sane. The bill board to the right grabbed my attention.
Heart 0 Comment 0
During your detention did you agree to return to Mexico? You could be eligible to return to the US.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One last look at Tecate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chickens for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
These convenience stores are very common and are a great source of ice cold water.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cheese for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was a little bit of a climb leaving Tecate, and then this glorious downhill. The white semi-truck is at about the half-way point, before the road disappears behind the hill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lots of hay
Heart 0 Comment 0
This new road cuts off about 5 miles of shoulder-less climbing. I asked the guy in the foreground if it went all the way though. "Yes, you can pass" he said.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I believed him, because I really wanted this to be my private road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The smart thing would have been to turn around, but the main road was just at the top of the hill. I could see the cars. Foolishly I continued, thinking I could just push my bike past the construction.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The ground was so soft that pushing the bike was impossible. I removed my bags and carried them to the top of the hill and when I turned around to go back for my bike, Jose was pushing it up behind me. Thank you!
Heart 0 Comment 0
First military checkpoint.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alejandro keeping it safe. There is a scratch on my camera lens that is really irritating.
Heart 0 Comment 0
First flat of the trip. That didn't take long.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cuplrit
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Olive trees
Heart 0 Comment 0
Welcome to the Wine Route Valle de Guadalupe is Baja's wine country
Heart 0 Comment 0
Valle de Guadalupe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those boxes on the hill are $400/night ($US) hotel rooms. Across the street was an abandoned RV park which in retrospect would have been the place to stop for the night. But it wasn't even 3PM yet and it felt too early.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wine country is full of high end places to stay and eat. I need to find beer country. In the meantime I am staying at La Posada Inn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
so good
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 106 miles (171 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0