Day 10: Nuevo Rosarito to Guerrero Negro - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 7, 2014

Day 10: Nuevo Rosarito to Guerrero Negro

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a nice breakfast in the morning and said good bye to the other cyclists as they left, one by one. We are traveling the same route (there's only one) so I expect I'll run into them again on this trip. As much as I enjoyed the company and conversation, I still prefer to be doing this alone. I can't quite explain it, but by myself I feel like I'm part of the place, with a group it feels like I'm looking through a window.

The ride into Guerrero Negro was flat and easy. I'm staying here for a day to get some things I need (like inner tubes and lip balm), eat fish tacos, and sleep in a bed away from the noise of Mexico 1.

Chris has several blogs on this website. Traveling is what he does.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jack
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mike
Heart 0 Comment 0
A hint of a stream leading out to the Pacific Ocean. This is the last I'll see of that until Todos Santos,
Heart 0 Comment 0
After the only hill of the day there is another military checkpoint. I suspect that Mexico has received a lot of Iraq war surplus.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a good summary of the last 30 miles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This on one side of the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
And this directly across on the other side
Heart 0 Comment 0
A definite change in scenery from the past few days
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
But it has its charms, if you pedal slowly with your head down
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those are my shorts strapped to the back. I'm cycling in my underpants now.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I saw a shadow pass over me and looked up to see this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just like clockwork, Ejido Jesus Maria appeared as soon as I drank the last of my water,
Heart 0 Comment 0
I parked next to the snowman,
Heart 0 Comment 0
The fake fireplace was playing Christmas carols.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The floor is made of of crushed sea-shells
Heart 0 Comment 0
Could this be it?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Parallel 28 is the border between the states of Baja California and Baja California Sur. The skeleton is of a grey whale. They migrate here each year. Starting in about a week, I'm told.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had two but should have had six, they were so good. Alfonso, the owner, gave me directions to the bike shop Alex told me about, plus directions to another. (I put my pants back on before getting into town)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 483 miles (777 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0