Day 9: Laguna Chapala to Nuevo Rosarito - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 6, 2014

Day 9: Laguna Chapala to Nuevo Rosarito

Heart 0 Comment 0

The morning was cold and dripping, just like my nose. I bundled up in all my clothes and started pedaling. In spite of almost no sleep it felt good to be riding. At one point as I stopped to rummage around for more clothes I noticed there was a tailwind. The first noticeable tailwind of the trip, and on a downhill stretch to boot. I decided that since I've spent the past two days drinking in the scenery I'd just ride now, and milk that wind for all I could. It was exhilarating. For the longest time I was in my highest gear and was just flying along at speeds I only occasionally hit while riding at home without any load. Up hill even. It was nice.

I stopped at Nuevo Rosarito, at a restaurant that is known for letting cyclists sleep in the yard behind it. I got there shortly after noon, and was planning on pushing on to Guerrero Negro where I could get a hotel. I was feeling rather beat from the lack of sleep and really wanted bed. But first, a spot of lunch. And oh, they have wifi for sale. I'll just buy a few minutes and send a message back home. Oh, and here are the three cyclists that passed me earlier today. I'll just stay and chat a little. It was too cool and comfortable to leave, so I ended up staying the night.

Still slept poorly. The sound of the trucks bouncing over the speed bumps or using their jake breaks is the soundtrack of camping along the trans-peninsular highway as far as I'm concerned.

Misty morning. It rained some, enough for me to think about digging out my poncho, but it cleared up before things got too bad. The day started out cold and wet, but it was hot and dry before lunch time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't know anybody here, so I can dress as interestingly as I like.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The owner was a real hoot, and had us both in stitches with his jokes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cirios are almost gone, this far south
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 435 miles (700 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0