Day 11: Guerrero Negro - Baja 2014 - CycleBlaze

December 8, 2014

Day 11: Guerrero Negro

Today was slow and lazy. First things first, I rode over to Manny's cycle shop and found 700c inner tubes. Nice! I bought 4, because only a fool would ride Baja with anything less. I swapped out the tube I got from Alex with one of these so that I'd have the same kind of valve on both wheels. I'm not sure why I thought that was important, and it might have been a mistake. Later in the day, while I was riding around Guerrero Negro for something to do, my rear wheel had a flat. Just as I was riding past Manny's. Now that was weird.

I took the bike in the shop and careful inspection of the tire by both of us didn't turn up any punctures, but there definitely was a hole in the tube. It appears my new Chinese tubes might have a quality issue. That's a little bit troublesome because the bike wasn't even weighed down with gear yet. I guess I'll find out tomorrow.

I bought some magic cream at the pharmacy that appears to have instantly repaired my lip, which has been cracked and bleeding for the past couple of days. I wonder what's in it?

I had more fish tacos and one of those nice, freshly prepared fruit salads with lime and chile. I ended the day by taking a couple of beers back to my room, repacked my bags yet again, and am now just waiting to go to bed.

I'm itching to get back to riding again. Tomorrow I am heading for Vizcaino, but if the ride is easy (which it should be, terrain wise) and I don't spend the day messing with inner tubes then I may try to go all the way to San Ignacio.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Guerrero Negro's main drag, "The Boulevard"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The girl next to the cart was real precocious and chatted me up about her brother in Ensenada and all her nieces and nephews. She beat me, she has five and I only have one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was me taking the picture of this delicious fruit salad that brought her over to me in the first place,
Heart 0 Comment 0
Damn, these were good!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Big bougainvillea in the park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fully loaded touring bike
Heart 0 Comment 0
"I think [of you], therefore I am"
Heart 0 Comment 0
"There is no medicine that can cure what happiness can't" It took a while to wrap my head around that one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Mexico convulsing and me thinking of you"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0