DAY 64: Troutdale to Wytheville: "Easy-going in the Appalachians" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2016

DAY 64: Troutdale to Wytheville: "Easy-going in the Appalachians"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 45.05

Average Speed: 12.8 mph

Maximum Speed: 31.8 mph

Today was a darn good day on the bike. The day would again be shorter than my normal routine, but I was okay with that. I had some oatmeal for breakfast (which I'm slowly starting to loathe), loaded up my bike, said goodbye to my fellow travelers, and headed east.

It was a phenomenal morning. The air was crisp and clear, roads were empty, and the route trended downhill. Also, there were flowers blooming everywhere! I was quite happy.

Heart 0 Comment 0

In the town of Sugar Grove, I reconvened with Helen, who is driving a support van for two cyclists. I hadn't seen her since the Tetons. We spent about an hour catching up before we both pressed on to Wytheville. I got her number, and the four of us are going to get dinner tonight. Yay!

I stopped at a fruit stand just before Wytheville. My body craves any type of fruits and veggies it can get, so I was happy to see a stand after so many weeks of eating from convenience stores and dollar stores. I went to pay for a huge peach I had found, and the owner just let me have it for free! Ah, today is excellent.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I thoroughly enjoyed my juicy peach as I pedaled into town. Once there, I loaded up on some basic groceries and checked in to the public park.

After figuring out where I'd be spending the night, I mooched the WiFi at Starbucks, got a haircut (!), and met with my fellow cyclists for dinner. I was treated to a salad bar, which is just what my body so desired. It also turns out that we'll probably be running into one another over the coming days, since we're on similar schedules.

Why didn't I get a haircut earlier?!? It's so much cooler!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I went back to the park (where I'm writing this), and I must say I'm not too excited to sleep here. There are still a fair number of people out at 10pm, and the streetlights are bright. Oh well.

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 4,102 miles (6,602 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0