DAY 65: Wytheville to Blacksburg: "Methinks I will be buying a motorcycle after this trip" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2016

DAY 65: Wytheville to Blacksburg: "Methinks I will be buying a motorcycle after this trip"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 60.9

Average Speed: 12.1 mph

Maximum Speed: 34 mph

What a day! My night in the park was not conducive to a great night's sleep. Between the noise teenagers and a skunk that meandered past my tent, I wasn't too rested.

Not exactly the Ritz-Carlton of accommodations.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got out of town by 8, stopping at a convenience store for some "supercharged" coffee. I was wired, and found myself pedaling furiously up and down the rolling hills. Rainfall would come every few minutes for brief, second-long spurt, but never long enough to warrant breaking out the rain jacket and rain pants.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

After getting very lost on my way into Blacksburg, I got to my warmshower's house. Michael and Jane were wonderful! They made me dinner, I went on a walk, and best of all, Michael took me on an hour-long motorcycle ride. I'd never been on a motorcycle before, and I had an absolute blast! Michael is a local author, and gave me such a detailed, interesting tour. We went up a mountain road to the hotel where "Dirty Dancing" was filmed, then back down into town and around Virginia Tech. Zipping aeound these roads and climbs at 60-70 mph made me think that I may have chosen the wrong mode of transportation...

Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the many great views on the ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 4,163 miles (6,700 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0