Day 37: Eads to Scott City (Kansas): "The relentless energy of Kansas" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2016

Day 37: Eads to Scott City (Kansas): "The relentless energy of Kansas"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 105.72

Average Speed: 14.5 mph

Maximum Speed: 23.3 mph

Today was slated to be hot, sunny, and windy, so an early departure was in order.

Roberto and I decided to leave Eads no later than 5am. We were up at 4:30am and rolling by 4:45am. with just a tinge of dawn bringing life to the otherwise black sky.

Biking through the high plains of eastern Colorado at this time was a surreal, introspective experience. The sulfuric sputtering of distant prairie oil rigs gave sound and smell to the morning; twittering birds came and went across the eastern sky; and the lights of distant vehicles meandered their way across the vast expanse of earth.

I'm looking forward to more mornings like this.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sky soon burst to life with color and shortly thereafter the sun began its searing waltz into th fee depths of my epidermis. A quick stop in Sheridan Lake to apply sunscreen and get some coffee quelled things nicely.

I entered Kansas amidst fields of corn and wheat. Kansas is the first of four states on the TransAm that I haven't yet visited, so naturally I was happy to put a check mark next to it on my mental map.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I like Kansas, much more than I expected. And it's not just because the gently rolling terrain is a nice break from the constant climbs and descents of the west (although that is definitely a factor). There's a constant, raw energy here amongst the farms. Combines line the roadways and fields, whirring away in the acres of wheat, corn, rye, sorghum, and barley; trucks barrel by as they make their ways to and from the countless grain silos dotting the side of the road; and folks are traveling in every which direction, trying their darnest to get out of the plains as fast as possible. It's a pity they don't realize what their missing.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Roberto and I plugged away, stopping in Tribune and Leoti to refill our water. The wind was out of the Southwest for most of the day, giving us a mild tailwind. However, the last twenty miles to Scott City were fraught with consistent sidewinds. Luckily, I had recently downloaded Audible, so I happily plugged away while listening to Jack Kerouack's "On the Road," which I thought would be an appropriate book for the occasion.

I don't think he was nearly as enthusiastic about this picture as I was.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sun and heat was intense, as predicted, but we were soon in Scott City, where we stayed with Ben, a warmshowers host and local crop duster and FBO operator. His house was recessed into the ground, meaning it was cool and refreshing. He took Roberto and I to the grocery store, and I bought a dinner that consisted of everything I can't usually eat on the road.

Veggies, hummus, yogurt, watermelon, and triscuits. My kind of meal.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We all chatted a lot before Ben jetted off to go spray a field before dark.

The wild Midwest skies on this warm summer evening.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 106 miles (171 km)
Total: 2,426 miles (3,904 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0