DAY 15: Grangevlle to Wilderness Gateway Campground: "Today most definitely made up for yesterday" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2016

DAY 15: Grangevlle to Wilderness Gateway Campground: "Today most definitely made up for yesterday"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 74.29

Average Speed: 12.8

Maximum Speed: 35.9

Good news: the sprinklers didn't go off while I was sleeping! As a result, I slept like a rock, and had a slow, easy morning. I replaced my front tube and inflated it at a gas station (no more pumping for me today), got some coffee, and left town by about 12pm. This late start meant I'd be pedaling until dark. Oh joy.

Truer words have never been spoken.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride made up for yesterday's...ahem..."difficulties." The route started out in the picturesque, rolling Camas Prairie before dropping into the Kooskia Valley. But this was no ordinary descent. Oh no. This precipice must have been crafted by the most overly-zealous, topographical-challenged "civil" engineer. It was terrifying. I had to stop multiple times and let my brakes cool, for fear of overheating things and warping my brake rotors.

Open Camas Prairie. It was just stunning.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Flowers were in full bloom!
Heart 0 Comment 0
THE descent. Little did I know what was to come.
Heart 0 Comment 0

But, after my plummet into the valley, the remainder of today's ride was relatively sane. I slowly made my way up highway 12 (probably the most dangerous road on the TransAm) towards Lolo Pass, paralleling the Clearwater River and the plethora of whitewater junkies and semi trucks. I ended at Wilderness Gateway Campground, where I met several fellow cyclists, including a fellow Whittie! We all slept under the shelter because it was slated to rain.

Much of this route was traversed by the Lewis and Clark expedition.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was breathtaking. Literally. I couldn't breath.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The upside of touring solo: lots of free time to think. The downside: every portrait shot is a selfie.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Campsite for the evening. We technically weren't allowed to set up under here, but we did anyways because we're rebels.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 938 miles (1,510 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0