DAY 14: New Meadows to Grangevlle: "I like to think I'm a smart guy. Today reminded me I have some work to do" - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs: Summer on the TransAmerica Trail - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2016

DAY 14: New Meadows to Grangevlle: "I like to think I'm a smart guy. Today reminded me I have some work to do"

DAILY STATS

Mileage: 89.11

Average Speed: 11.0

Maximum Speed: 25.6

Flat count: 3? Keep reading to learn

They say that the first 10 days of any extended tour are the hardest. I've been hard pressed to believe this. My first 10 days have been (for the most part)  wonderful. But today, day 14, changed this tune. And here's why.

The day started out quite nicely: frosty and cool. Because I didn't need to pay for camping, I decided to treat myself to a diner breakfast. The food was hearty and, most importantly, the waitress was liberal with the coffee.

Wise words to live by. Seen in the Granite Mountain Cafe where I had breakfast.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I hit the road feeling rotund and ready to go. Most of the day was downhill, so I figured I'd make good time.

Nope.

I had headwinds for the entire day, so any topographical benefits were nixed. Add to this the fact that the roads were busy and peppered with rattlesnakes (I saw at least 20)  and that the temperature was climbing, and the day was a grind. But wait, there's more.

It was beautiful weather for a ride, but the slow headwind took the fun out of the descent. Drat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A good place for a quick rest stop, right along the Little Salmon River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This wasn't posed at all...
Heart 1 Comment 0
There's probably a rattlesnake somewhere in this picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Around mile 60 I saw some shade just off the road, so I biked over to bask in its magnificence. Unfortunately, I biked right through a patch of goat heads.

For those of you who don't know, goat heads are what pave the road in cyclist hell. Their sharp points will get through the toughest of tires, mine included.

I could only find one hole, but I was convinced that there were more. I decided to continue on,  and had to pump my front tires every ~6 miles. I used my only spare tube the previous night, and was thus worried about any other mishaps.

In White Bird, a fellow cyclist gave me a spare tube after seeing me look for one in the general store. His only wish? That I pay it forward.

I should've camped in White Bird but, being naive and overly ambitious, decided to conquer the only pass of the day.

Mistake.

This pass, which was the site of an infamous battle with the Nez Perce, was harder than McKenzie Pass. Its steep, shade-less, endless switchbacks nearly killed me and my still-deflating bike. I hated to stop, but had to whenever my tire got too low.

In retrospect, this climb was stunning. In the moment, I wanted to cry. But crying requires waterms, and I was low. So I had to conserve my tears.
Heart 1 Comment 0

But I did it, and rolled rather unenthusiasticly into Grangesville. I camped at the public park with Oliver, an awesome Slovenian fellow that is WALKING the TransAm. He's a serious inspiration, and great to talk to.

Thank you Grangeville for the free camping.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tired, sore, and hungry. But content that I made it.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This man is incredible. He's somewhat of a celebrity back in Slovenia. Thanks for the company and laughs Oliver!
Heart 0 Comment 0

So then, today was tough. But through adversity comes growth. I'm laying here in my tent, sore because of the day's physical demands, but content that I carried on. And now I've got the sound of crickets to put me to sleep. Fingers crossed that the sprinklers don't interrupt my slumber!

Today's ride: 89 miles (143 km)
Total: 864 miles (1,390 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0