Why destroy roads with rumble strips? - The Backyard Tour - CycleBlaze

October 4, 2020

Why destroy roads with rumble strips?

I was so anxious to get on the road this morning that I left at 9:30 instead of 10 o’clock. My route took me through northern Forsyth county on about 5 miles of greenway, and then I got onto surface streets and then into Cherokee county. Once I got out of the northern suburbs it was pretty smooth going let me tell you though that the hills really started to hit me as I got out of the northern Forsyth County suburbs it was up up up down up up up up it was a climb and a half I’ll tell you.

Forsyth greenway
Heart 1 Comment 0

I rolled into Ball Ground about 11:30 in the morning and I picked up a burger that had some tortilla chips and guacamole on it it also had refried beans which although tasty kind of made the whole thing a soggy mess. Next time I’ll order something a little more “standard” and by that I mean I’m going back (not on this tour but maybe a day ride out and back to the bus)

I found some fantastic quiet roads
Heart 1 Comment 0
The burger bus. Old, converted 1940s era bus
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m in the bus! Although with COVID I chose to eat outside
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today’s weather was fantastic it started off in the low 60s and then went all the way up to just above 70°F beautiful beautiful riding weather the one thing that I would have to complain though is why does the Georgia Department of transportation dig rumble strips on the side of the road right where the bicycles are riding this forces bicycles out further into the road which cars have to pass and makes the safety of the cyclist even worse maybe it saves lives of one or two drivers but for a cyclist it’s a deathtrap.

“I went to Reinhardt” not fake news. I didn’t attend any classes or anything but I was there
Heart 1 Comment 0
Love these backroad sights.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pine log campground. I’m camped somewhere back there out of sight
Heart 3 Comment 0

I am camped in the pine log campground. Which is not really a public campground it’s a church revival campground and it looks like it hasn’t really been used in several years. I have my tent set up just behind the tabernacle and there’s a restroom with running water and indoor plumbing just behind me. So I got that going for me. Which is nice. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 67 miles (108 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0