Day 1 - Merida to Baca - es pan comido - correcto? - Mini tour to Baca, Yucatan on our new folding bikes - CycleBlaze

December 3, 2021

Day 1 - Merida to Baca - es pan comido - correcto?

I'm nervous whenever and wherever we ride - and this day was no different.  I sure do hope I get past this feeling at some point.  Luckily it passes once I get settled into the ride.  

Nervous Nellie
Heart 2 Comment 0

The route was short, only 35 km's but would take us through 6 small pueblos, 5 of which I'd never been to before.  I was excited to see new places - it's what motivates me to keep moving past the fear.  We couldn't check in until after 2 p.m. so by my calculations if we left at 10 we would likely arrive around 1 thereabouts -  allowing for a couple of stops along the way, and then could wait in the square at Baca eating our granola bars and people watching.  I was wrong.

Our Route
Heart 0 Comment 0

Getting out of the city to the pedestrian bridge, which would take us safely over the busy periferico, took a bit of planning.  But like I've said before, I love maps and researching routes and after a couple of trial outings beforehand, we had an easy route out.

When we got to the top of the overpass bridge, we had to maneuver our way through scaffolding and workers who were busy spray painting the bridge.  I think my bike might of got a dusting of pea green paint sprayed on it as they didn't seem too concerned with stopping work to let us pass.

After a couple of km's of riding along the access road of the periferico we turned off towards our first pueblo of Chichi Suarez.  Now we had been to this pueblo a couple of weeks ago, but not this same way.  Previously we were out searching for a shortcut from the fraccionamiento Los Heroes to Chichi Suarez.  In anticipation of our upcoming trip to Baca, we thought it might be easier than riding along the periferico access road.  I was wrong.   Video here

I quite like Chichi Suarez.  It feels like a bustling, happening little town with a beautiful Hacienda.  It also had the one and only bike path of the trip.  As we were leaving Chichi, Rob noticed a cycle shop which we would stop at on our return home Sunday to look for some decent tires.

Heart 0 Comment 0
A welcome bike path
Heart 2 Comment 0

A few short km's later we arrived to the pueblo of Sitpach.  Not quite as busy as Chichi but still a fair size.  The roads here were terrible.  Full of potholes, cracks and crumbling pavement.  It was a rough ride and was hard on the wrists and bottom.  On the outskirts of Sitpach I felt like I was riding uphill - but wait!  This is the Yucatan - it's flat.  My tire that is.  Never having experienced a flat on any of our Bike Friday's, we were disappointed.  Crappy tires.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Good to see busses pass by here - just in case
Heart 2 Comment 0

Tire fixed, off we went to the next pueblo of Yaxche Casares which happened to be the smallest of the 6.  I think the sign said population 103?  There were several people waiting at the square for the bus I am guessing.  Although it was the smallest village, there appeared to be plenty of construction happening.

Waiting for the bus
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another secure load
Heart 0 Comment 0

Everyone we met along our route today were friendly and quick to return a buenos dias.  We were given lots of room from passing vehicles and received some friendly toots too.  It felt good.

The next pueblo was Xcuyun where they were busy in the square putting up Christmas decorations.  We did not stop here, in fact the only stop we made so far was to fix the flat.

Fella giving his input about where Santa should go
Heart 0 Comment 0

By now the sky was starting to get dark with clouds and when we made a turn onto the Conkal-Yaxkukul road we were faced with a fairly strong headwind.  This supposedly easy ride was starting to tire me out and I was surprised.  I was out of breath, my bum was sore and I was starting to wish we were already there.

Heart 1 Comment 0

We passed a few privadas (gated developments) and stopped for a break outside of one that looked deserted aside from one house.  How creepy that must feel to live there.

Beautiful sign outside of the garbage dump
Heart 2 Comment 0

Still battling a headwind we arrived at Yaxkukul where I purchased a couple of cokes.  I needed help.  I should of bought a chocolate bar too.  Yaxkukul was an exceptionally clean, pretty pueblo and looked very festive with all the Christmas decorations in the square.  We kept our stop short as it was beginning to look like rain and we had 7 km's to go.

Beautiful, clean square
Heart 3 Comment 0

Shortly after leaving, it started to rain.  Rob chose to ride as is, but I wanted to try out the new snazzy cape. I'm sure if I could of got it on quicker the cape would of worked swell and kept me dry.  Next time.

I found out it didn't fit over my helmet
Heart 1 Comment 0

I think it was between this point and the next pueblo that we came across some guys working in the bush in what appeared to be an unexcavated ruin site.  They were putting up a fence and clearing brush with machetes. I could see behind them what appeared to be a small ruin.  I have heard that there are many ruins left still uncovered in this area.

Pretty sure this moto taxi was out of commission
Heart 1 Comment 0

One more pueblo to go and then we were in Baca.  Tixkuncheil was the 2nd smallest pueblo but had a pretty impressive church.  But my focus at this point was to just get to our destination.  Our 2 to 2  1/2 hr ride took close to 4 1/2 hrs.  Crazy.  No sitting in the square at Baca eating granola bars and people watching.  Show me to our room please!

Lovely Baca - I was so relieved to get here
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our Airbnb - Casa Lunita
Heart 1 Comment 0

  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0