Days 107:110 - meeting Arnold and flying to Singapore and back - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2023 to August 18, 2023

Days 107:110 - meeting Arnold and flying to Singapore and back

A couple of days ago, when I arrived in Bogor, I mentioned to Daisy that 40 years ago I was friends with a fellow student from Bogor. The last time I saw Arnold was when I stayed with him and Erly in the late 80s. We looked up Arnold Sinurat and had no trouble finding him. Daisy sent him a message, at a speed that would surprise a hotel roach. It seemed that we all had limited time so Arnold came to Daisy's this morning. We chatted over a drink, I tossed a few items in a pannier and then Arnold drove us to the station. 

Arnold and I
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Arnold sent me this photo. If you have any food hampers please send them soon.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I did a huge favour for Arnold all those years ago. He arrived in Australia as a graduate student and, as expected, a smoker. We were walking along and Arnold dropped a cigarette butt and I gave him grief. Soon after he smoked his last cigarette. 

I got on the train with Daisy and while I changed for the airport, she changed for Jakarta for a trip that included shopping. She had warned me that I can't go shopping with her to markets because everything will cost double!

I took a few photos from the train window. At one point we went through well-to-do suburbs; but most were not. I didn't spot anywhere I'd like to live.

A glorious day in Jakarta. Look at that blue sky!
Heart 4 Comment 0

At the airport, I caught up with Ines Setiawan, who worked with Graham Smith for several years on his variety of projects in Indonesia. We had a good chat about things Indonesian before I realised that I had better rush and catch a plane in an unfamiliar airport. Fortunately, I got through security quickly.

Ines, her friend Mike, and I
Heart 5 Comment 0
Bikes of the day in the terminal of Jakarta Airport. I have no idea who rides them or where they ride. I'll encourage cycling wherever I see it.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Before I knew it, I was navigating Changi Airport and finding my way to Kah Ying and Jerome's place near Orchard Road. There was one little hitch: I had been assured that my credit card would work on the rapid transit system, but of course it didn't. Mine, although new, is not contactless, whatever that means. I trooped back into "arrivals" and made another donation to the Commonwealth Bank.

A terrific hanging garden in Changi Airport.
Heart 5 Comment 0

But soon, I was on the train heading into Orchard Road, with a couple of changes on the way. 

I think my major achievement today was crossing Orchard Road. I was all set to jump the fence on the edge of the road and bolt across, when something reminded me that I am not in Indonesia. I am in Singapore and doing such a thing may mean that I never step foot in Australia again. I backtracked, re-entered what is effectively a mall, found the underpass and held my head high.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

A few minutes later I was asking security outside Kah Ying and Jeromes's place  how I find a particular apartment. You need a block number, they said. Apparently, the block number is part of the address that I was showing them. They phoned Kah Ying and all was well. It was 10.30 pm and I had arrived. Singapore is an hour ahead of Bogor.  It was great to see Kah Ying and Jerome. But, I don't know if it was a great idea to sit up until 2 am. It might be alright for me but they're both working.

Count up 10 and that's where I am staying.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This and the following images are my views from the tenth floor.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I didn't leave the apartment on Wednesday. My throat is still objecting to Saturday's ride, while a day of absolute rest is probably good. Thus, with help from Kah Ying, I chased a bottom bracket. It was always going to pan out the way it did. You contact person A who says I can't help you but person B is a good chance. 

In this case, Person A was this fine fellow, who Kah Ying somehow contacted.

Malcolm Chen Tai Chuan is the face of "Ageless Bicyclists"
Heart 5 Comment 0

Malcolm put us onto Jason Lim, a bike mechanic. Kah Ying explained my predicament - that my bike was in Bogor, my bottom bracket is shaky, etc. I then took over and explained it all again. I wasn't trying to improve the performance of my bike; I'm just trying to get from Bogor to Singapore without it failing. Jason suggested nearby bike shops and then came up with another solution. He had removed a bottom bracket with the right specifications from a bike. I could have it. I thanked Jason and told him that  I would buy a crank puller and a bottom bracket removal tool. I can find a large shifter anywhere. But Jason replied and said that he had spares of those tools and that he lived nearby and would deliver them. What a star! I might add that another cyclist, and another Jason, also made an offer of a second hand bottom bracket. These Jason's seem like a good bunch.

A photo sent by Jason of a bottom bracket, crank puller and bottom bracket tool.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Jason rolled up on this steed. Imagine how fast he must pedal with those little wheels!!!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

So, with the kit in hand, I ventured out with Jerome for a quick lunch, before wandering Orchard Road and the odd lane. Here are a few photos.

An offering to ancestors. It looked particularly good. Somehow I refrained but it wasn't easy.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The first public clock I've seen with the correct time in a long while. That on the right isn't so good.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There's terrific street art in Singapore. But what else could you buy with this money!!!!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
A beauty
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
That's not very ambitious at all
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I met Kah Ying mid-afternoon and we headed off to see her mum, Kim, who I have not seen for a long time. As we traveled, the skies opened. Neither of us had an umbrella but we didn't need it. Kah Ying navigated so that we stayed under cover. Only in Singapore!

Kah Ying and I on the train
Heart 4 Comment 0
Kim and I. She had a pile of cakes waiting for me. Kah Ying says she doesn't smile often. You wouldn't know it from this photo.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Kim has been a volunteer for years and proudly showed me the various awards she had received for her service. I'm told that she has a heap of friends and is often out socializing.7

The view from Kim's flat. Is she caged in or are the others caged out?
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
A simple sign that requires an explanation from a local. Apparently, it's common for many people to live in each of these flats. Thus, students escape to study.
Heart 5 Comment 0

We met Jerome, who took me shopping to one of his favourite shops for a pair of shorts. Mine disintegrate with sweat. It was then time to venture to Little India for an excellent meal. The place seems primitive but a robot delivers your meal.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
I hear you!
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantNo need to go anywhere else then !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Our motorcycle trip in India convinced us that Tata means "truck struggling uphill belching black smoke".
Heart 4 Comment 0

And that was it. Today I spent the day traveling back to Bogor. It was a very strange experience going from Singapore to the chaos of Indonesia. 

Entering Indonesia was dead easy without an onward ticket. I explained what I was doing and that was the end of the matter.

Daisy was in town, so we had a meal and then she helped me replace my Dunlop Volleys. The Singaporean rain exposed their frailties.

Heart 4 Comment 1
Heart 4 Comment 0
Jakarta Airport
Heart 4 Comment 0
A view from the train
Heart 4 Comment 0
A view on the train to Bogor. This and the airport are the only Indonesian places with such restrictions. I love bottom right.
Heart 4 Comment 5
John GrantIt's hard to make out from here, Ian.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, I enjoyed your comments as usual. Can't you enlarge the photo and identify a durian?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantTo Ian WallisOf course Ian ! Quite obvious now . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian DouglasOur bus in Cambodia had a hand grenade in the prohibition adjacent to the durian.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasIan, I enjoyed your comments. I also dislike hand grenades on buses; Israeli soldiers were bad enough.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
My vendor of the day - the shoe guy. He refused to let me trade in the Volleys.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Graham SmithIan did you offer a package deal of your volleys and the old bottom bracket parts.
60,000 km is barely worn in. Bargain.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0