Day 96 - delayed in Yogyakarta II; fitness declining rapidly - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2023

Day 96 - delayed in Yogyakarta II; fitness declining rapidly

I'm getting good at finding Museum Affandi, so much so that yesterday I returned by random roads. I love just following my nose. Where are we? Don't care!

Unfortunately, my slight cold of yesterday headed down overnight meaning that I had a poor night's sleep and woke congested. But I didn't feel so bad that I couldn't cycle to Affandi.

When I arrived, I took a photo looking east. The museum is gradually being squeezed.

A small sign above the red car points to Museum Affandi. Please note that the red car is not always here.
Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantHa Ha! Sneaky Indonesians !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
This is the same place.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I warned Kartika, that I was off-colour, but she just shrugged her shoulders; I'm not coughing or sneezing but that may not make me less infectious.

The plan changed again. Kartika was unhappy with yesterday's portrait and so was set up for take two.  She was reading a newspaper  - no glasses required, when I arrived. A couple of hours later she had a portrait with which she was very happy, other than the blue shirt, which apparently makes me look too feminine. It will be black in the final production.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 3
Jackie LaycockFabulous painting
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Jackie LaycockJackie, hard for it not to be!!!!! I can't wait to see the end result that will include the front of my bicycle, Affandi and Kartika. It will have a title something like "touring cyclist visits Museum Affandi".
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantShe's certainly got some painting skills !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Time flew by. There was no special instruction for me. I was mesmerized by Kartika at work - an artist in deep concentration but occasionally breaking into conversation or laughter. "You watch me like a tiger", she said. "There'd be no watching if I were a tiger", I replied. Kartika seemed to be painting without looking at the canvas.

I don't understand the painting process, so when I said to Kartika that this portrait is the same size as yesterday's, but on a small canvas, she explained that it's final and she will simply copy it to a new canvas. "Then that one will be final!", I said.  She laughed.

Heart 6 Comment 0

 

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Like yesterday's portrait, all of this took place on an amazing mosaic floor that must be 75 m2, with steps and slopes.  It's Kartika's design made by a team of workers doing a square metre every two days. A great variety of music played.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
There are some tricky bits.
Heart 6 Comment 0

We had the occasional break, during which I did more exploring.

Kartika is fond of Komodo dragons
Heart 6 Comment 0
Another mosaic
Heart 6 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltRather Van Gogh-esque.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltYes, Bill. I'm not on Facebook but will chase up your link. Ian
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantSpectacular !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 6 Comment 0
A description of the house
Heart 5 Comment 0

I felt an obligation to Graham, to photograph the Javanese cart, a tricky task.

Heart 5 Comment 2
Graham SmithThanks Ian. It’s even more impressive than I remembered it. It was in 2014 I saw it.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantI feel that cart would take a pair of substantial buffalo to get it in motion !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was rather sad to be leaving Museum Affandi. I had visited originally to view the works of a master. I had no idea that I would spend the best part of three days there. It was a terrific experience and I have transcribed Graham's description to a Venn diagram.

Heart 4 Comment 1
Graham SmithIan I used to think that the occurrences were either unique or not. Your Venn diagram has convinced me there are degrees of uniqueness in the world of cycle touring.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I was amused once more, on my return ride to see the false policing. 

Folks, that's pathetic! If you want it to work, spend more on metal and make it to size.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This one wasn't too bad.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I lay low in the afternoon, although I did take a walk. Here are some random photos.

It could be on Gardening Australia
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Occam's Razor
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantVery true. Simple and it must work !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
I had it explained: when things are quiet these auto-rickshaw drivers play chess for money.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

I succeeded in my search for the lamest bicycle of the day. 

Heart 5 Comment 1
John GrantI can't see the non uniform wheel size catching on . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Today's ride: 11 km (7 miles)
Total: 6,928 km (4,302 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMy dad was an artist... teacher actually, but highly talented. I grew up leafing through his college art books and seeing works of the old masters.

If you can access facebook, here is a newspaper clipping of him that I got after he and mom died. Both he and his siblings are all long gone.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10204272950920046&set=a.2966597800107
Reply to this comment
8 months ago