Day 85 - A roach, a ride to Pasuruan and a celebration of cycling - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2023

Day 85 - A roach, a ride to Pasuruan and a celebration of cycling

My day started, in my squalid quarters, in just the way it should start in squalid quarters, with a roach ambling across the floor. The a/c vaguely cooled the place last night. You really don't need locks on the doors; they drag sufficiently on the ground.

It's a new time zone here in Java, so the light has shifted to the morning. It always seems like an achievement to cross time zones while touring. I should don the red tie but I'm forgetting to do that even between islands. There's something hectic about Indonesia that keeps you on the hook. Hotel Forresta does not provide breakfast - probably a good thing, and so I ate fruit and biscuits and headed for Pasuruan, 120 km away. I liked the look of stuff this morning.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
A chook market
Heart 3 Comment 0

I made my first donation to the Commonwealth Bank in Besuki, so I'll have enough money tonight for a roach-free room. The road this morning has been rough. I've stopped, after 35 km, for breakfast  - rice, tofu, tempeh, egg, potato and tea, and coffee.

I was on my way again passing an enormous coal-fired power-station, when I noticed that it was just 9.30.

I hadn't gone much further when I came across fruit stalls, where I stocked up on mandarins and snake fruit. Here's the day's vendor.

Heart 5 Comment 0

Soon after that I saw a sign that took me back a little.

Now, that's exciting! I have not seen a rest area in Indonesia. And 80 dunnies; they must serve curry.
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantEighty could cater for two bus loads at a time with a few left for touring cyclists. I'd expect it not to be shot up like in the NT.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

I continued cycling and didn't see anything resembling a rest area and certainly not one with 80 toilets. I had forgotten about it when, after a couple of km, there was another sign, this time indicating 500 m. Finally, it appeared and was not the typical roadside rest area but, instead, a resort. I kept cycling.

I had seen many bicycles up to this point, all being used as work-horses. I'll get back to that later. But halfway to Pasuruan, I spotted a cycle tourer ahead and soon caught up.

We stopped and chatted near a stall selling durian for 10,000 rp and another offering three pineapples for the same money. Ramli is an interesting character. He dropped out of English studies at university, worked as a chef and, for the past two years, has been traveling around his homeland. First he walked, then hitch-hiked and, more recently, cycled on what I guess is a 1950's steel British bike. It's a fixie, without gears, and rather tricky to ride. I tried! We rode the 60 km to Pasuruan together and he then continued to Surabaya. He rides most nights, dark clothes, no lights, although he does have a reflector! 

It weighs 25 kg without the load. Terrific to see a bike with cotter pins.
Heart 3 Comment 3
John GrantTerrific if the cotter pins are on someone else's bike !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantI agree, but they remind me of my first bike. Why did it take so long to get cranks that are bolted on? I guess you need a puller to get them off but how often do you need to remove them? It seemed as though cotter pins required constant attention.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantTo Ian WallisI'm supposing that bolt on cranks require more precision machining which wasn't really applied to bicycles in the 60s. We had no access to anything as flash as new cotter pins so I remember trying to reshape them on the anvil. Mind you I was riding a bike that had already been discarded by my sister, then two elder brothers so it was getting a bit worn !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Brake levers but no brake blocks!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

We stopped occasionally in the 60 km to Pasuruan, including getting fritters from this fellow.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Sent by Ramli, 14 km from Surabaya
Heart 3 Comment 0

I found plush accommodation for the night at Semeru Park Hotel.

Look at this! Clean and roach-free.
Heart 4 Comment 0

 I tool some random photos while walking back after eating.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I couldn't muster the courage to wander in.
Heart 3 Comment 0

And now, for that celebration of cycling. There's some tough people here.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Look at the shoes - now that's tough.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantA camouflage school dropout ?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltI always wonder how they see...
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltI assume the use a spotter on the garbage bin.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantTo Ian WallisPerhaps the rats start to jump off before you hit something
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Look ahead!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Let me finish with a photo that I have made so many times on this trip that it deserves to enter the blog.

Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 129 km (80 miles)
Total: 6,493 km (4,032 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Graham SmithIan you are making quick work of crossing Java. At this pace you’ll be in Sumatra before we can say ‘nasi goreng’.

Well ridden, and sensible choice not to ride at night like the darkly clad local cycle tourer.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham, hard day today. I tried to get out of the noise, exhausts and chaos of the main road, but all I get are slower roads, challenging navigation, a little less noise and a bunch of other hassles. It cost me 20 km getting to Jombang and it's not as though I saw anything worth seeing. I think that's Java for you. If you're not up a volcano then you're probably in traffic. I'm trying to hurry it up so I have plenty of time for Yogya. Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Graham SmithTo Ian WallisYes I can imagine it’d be tough going. The only cycling I’ve done in Java was within Yogya in the 1980s on hired classic Dutch style sit-up-and-beg bikes. It was marvellous fun. Smooth, unsealed, tree lined boulevards with hardly a motor vehicle in sight. Long time ago.

On more recent work visits, I found that any area below about 300 metres elevation was stifling for someone used to Canberra and Orange weather. And of course the population of motorcycles and trucks has grown logarithmically since 1983.

I have the impression that the northern coastal margins of Java are busier and more populated than the southern coasts. Surabaya of course is a vast city.

Higher places, like Malang City, are said to be much more pleasant.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithGraham, I'm going to try the south coast of Java after Yogya. One thing is that I'm moving fast on the main road. When it's flat, like around here, I'm easily doing 25+. Of course, the traffic squalls stop me. Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago