Day 78 - I discover my whereabouts and then pedal across Lombok - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2023

Day 78 - I discover my whereabouts and then pedal across Lombok

My internal compass was spot on last night with one exception - Opandi and Uma's house was very close to the water. This explains the wildlife. After breakfast part 1, it was a 50 m walk to watch the sunrise. 

I'm in a fishing village across the water from the ferry wharf.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The light was good for a few photos.

Opandi, Uma, Jacob and niece, Tari.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Uma got the day's supply of little fish - free to villagers, apparently.

Destined for the hot oil.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Opandi was keen to show me some big trees that grew nearby. They were well worth seeing.

A fig of some type, I think.
Heart 5 Comment 0

On our return, we visited a water supply that flows from the mountains and offers clean water. Don't ask me why the outlet is in the sea. I'm sure there's a sensible answer - continuous flow? 

Heart 5 Comment 0

Every so often in life, there's someone who can make you feel hopeless. It's a pleasure because you can appreciate a skill that you don't possess. Opandi asked if I would like some young coconut. I expected a shop!

Some say that people over 50 should not climb ladders. Opandi is 28.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltSomething you don't often see! I used to climb trees like that. Joints won't allow it any more though. Tough getting old.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, good on you. I don't think I ever tried. Mind you, I would have done if I'd seen someone do it when I was young. Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
John GrantGreat climb
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

How do you transport them? Obviously, use a sharp stone to make a small incision, peel a strip of skin and tie them together.

Heart 5 Comment 0

It was time to return for breakfast part 2. 

Heart 5 Comment 0

We bade farewell and I was on my way soon after 9, feeling that I had already made the most of a day. How lucky was I yesterday? Magic!

I wound through the convoluted lanes of the village and turned left for Mataram on the other side of Lombok. Gunung Rinjani accompanied me, but every so often ducked into cloud. 

Gunung Rinjani- 3726 metres and active.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I found myself on a busy road but rather enjoyed it; there was so much to see.

Rather modest compared with the Christian cemeteries in Timor Leste, West Timor and Flores.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Unfortunately, some things don't change!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Vegetables in front, the scourge of Indonesia, Nicotiana tabacum, behind.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A rice seedbed
Heart 4 Comment 2
Ian DouglasIn a day trip south to a good surf beach on Lombok I was surprised to see in the same day rice at all stages of its production cycle.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasYou're right. I'm seeing the same - interesting.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
That's a lot of bamboo support.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Gorgeous; toss it in the ute and take it home!
Heart 4 Comment 0
The first durian - I smelt them before I saw them.
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantGood durians then. The completely scentless ones in the supermarkets here must be like the peaches they try to sell me. No flavour at all !
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
I couldn't resist - 40,000 rp, more than yesterday's ferry ticket but still less than an Australian coffee. And, the durian belch has remarkable staying power.
Heart 5 Comment 6
Bill ShaneyfeltI've heard tales... Heard you love or hate it, and also heard it depends on the variety. Never had the opportunity to try it.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, good hearing from you. When you hear something like that, you just have to try one, don't you? I have a picture of me lying on a bed in a guesthouse, durian on the pillow. The room stank when we came back. That was an entire durian; you can't imagine they smell before being cut, but they do. Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltA missionary friend in Thailand claims the variety they have locally is really good and does not smell like dirty socks.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, so why not just eat a banana? You could get 40 for the price of that boring durian. If I could find a durian that smelt like my tropical socks I would sleep with it. Ian
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Ian WallisHard to imagine...
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian DouglasA few years back a part of Dickson (Canberra) was evacuated because of a gas leak that turned out to be Durian.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
That's a high school not a primary school. Indonesia leads the way in "ride to school".
Heart 4 Comment 0
It was busy. I even saw a big exercise with the cops getting people riding without a helmet. But it's a complicated law. Police don't have to wear helmets. I gather that it's optional for women in Islamic dress.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Ian DouglasI saw a guy with a plastic 2L ice cream container on his head for a helmet.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian DouglasSure, it was probably of very good quality!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

So, how do you cycle in this traffic that includes a lot of trucks, but mainly motorcycles?  First, to understand my description you need to know that Indonesians, like the British, Australians and a bunch of others, drive on the left.

The first thing is to forget anything behind. Throw away your mirror! You can take off without looking! Listening to music would be fine, perhaps sensible. Your responsibility is in front. Someone coming from the left on a motorcycle will just continue, if going in your direction. If turning right, they will essentially do a u-turn, putting them in your firing line. All is good; they will likely keep on your left. Vehicles coming in from the right will spear in a diagonal into your lane. Likewise, oncoming vehicles making a left turn will come in a diagonal towards you. Just maintain your speed; they will go in front or behind you.  Oncoming vehicles will overtake others but you will have space. Be consistent. You can veer to the right to dodge the pothole in front. Those behind will adjust. Try not to stop. Indicators mean nothing much of the time. They're best ignored.

I would trust an Indonesian to miss me, long before I'd trust the average Australian driver, who sees nothing but large square boxes with four wheels. Indonesians see a myriad of things on the road. They seem to have a huge respect for animals on the road - chooks, goats, cows, dogs. Yesterday I saw a cat cross a busy road.  Having said all of that, I would not start my Asian cycle touring on the road across Lombok.

I finished my day in Mataram, a city of immediate appeal. My accommodation is impeccable, absurdly cheap and you won't find a better host than Alil.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Alil and I
Heart 4 Comment 0

I ducked out for dinner, a band blasted R&R in the street, the fruit stalls captured the eye and I found the perfect warung on the footpath.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

What a fine day!  78 km on day 78, 800 m of climbing with a glide down in the last 30 km. I was in Mataram by 2.30 after four hours of cycling, all in the heat. It felt as though I cheated.

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 5,996 km (3,724 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithAnother day, another island.
It seems like only yesterday you were on a different island.
You are archipedaling the archipelago at an eruptive pace.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithWell done, Graham!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago