Day 7 - Onwards to Cobar - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 7, 2023

Day 7 - Onwards to Cobar

The weather turned nasty last night - cold, wet and windy. I was soon underway and got to Nymagee afer the last 21 km of dirt. 

The end of 92 km of dirt - lovely ride
Heart 2 Comment 0
Handyman's delight in Nymagee
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was from here that I phoned Macca to spruik indigo on his radio show "Australia all over". Iwas cut off just before getting on air but perhaps this was a good omen. Would I have seen a pair of MALLEE FOWL 5 km further had I not spent a futile 30 min? Even if you don’t give a flying zucchini about birds, look them up, tell your kids for they are an ornithological orgasm! They made the emus that I saw a little later seem a bit mundane. I don't have a photo but their demise lies partly in this critters paws.

Heart 2 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltRed foxes are invasive.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_foxes_in_Australia
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltDear Bill
Yes foxes along with cats, rabbits, cane toads etc are invasive and responsible for the loss of Australia's wildlife. I did my PhD on one such group - the rat kangaroos.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltInteresting to connect with another Zoologist! My formal training ended with a BS in Zoology at Arizona State U. in 1969. At that time, I worked with an Ecologist, Dr. Eric R. Pianka helping him do field collection and research in the southwest US deserts. He later did extensive research on Australian Varanids, and I always wished I could have accompanied him down under. Last saw him when he was the keynote speaker at the Biology of Lizards Conference in New Mexico in 2018.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=10215787506496739&set=a.10215770716356996
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltDear Bill
I worked on desert tortoises in the Mojave in the early 1990s out of Ken Nagy’s lab at UCLA. I met Eric Pianka then. Also, I'm friends with Brian Green, Australia's varanid man.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Ian WallisThat's really interesting! I guess you don't need me posting nature info. on your journals with such a high level of knowledge! Good to know there are others out riding who have some nature expertise.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I battled headwinds for 35 km to the Kidman Way, where I turned north and picked up some wind. What a turn!

The Kidman Way to Cobar
Heart 2 Comment 0

I did a quick 20 km before a much-needed break with tea, coffee, rancid cheese on biscuits, scroggin, gingernuts and diary writing. Back on the bike I felt very good and quickly knocked over the 50 km to Cobar, scaring the living daylight out of 200 goats as I went. I don't think that they see enough cyclists.

Cobar - a gold-mining town. I'm all the richer for visiting!
Heart 2 Comment 0

The first person I spoke with - a fellow towing a caravan, told me that it was hard work today in the wind. I bet it was; you must be exhausted.

Great name for a hotel. Pity it's not in Cobar
Heart 1 Comment 2
Lyla RoganLove to know where it is !!!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Lyla RoganLyla - Kensington, UK. There's no reason that it can't be copied and plonked in Cobar
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 123 km (76 miles)
Total: 714 km (443 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Ian RobinsonHey Ian

Chris and I are in awe of your adventure and waiting for a bee sighting and related comment. Enjoy the coffee in the morning!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Robin BrownSnow has settled on Mt Gingera so it is a bit colder back home and Ben and I had a battle with unforcasted wind on the road today. May any wind from now be pushing your panniers.
Cheers
Robin
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisThanks Robin it did.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Ian RobinsonThanks Ian and Chris. Saw a few apiaries somewhere - more feral things
Reply to this comment
10 months ago