Day 6 - North towards Nymagee - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 6, 2023

Day 6 - North towards Nymagee

First dirt coming up. The recent floods were dreadful here so I wonder about the road. And I wonder how much water to take and decide on 6 litres.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I was out early and soon crossing the Lachlan, where you stop if there's horses on the bridge. They'd almost certainly be trying to somersaul over with a triple-pyke headbanger finish.

I was soon out of town in undulating, red dirt country. Two foxes darted across but an omen for a great day were the pink cockatoos. The dominant sounds were the distant drone of machinery planting winter crops and, closer  the cackle of apostlebirds.

White Box, Eucalyptus albens
Heart 3 Comment 0

I stopped after 56 km and thought "where's the dirt"? I found it 2 km further and by day's end had done 71 km and kept my bike up  in a couple of sand-traps.

They tossed in the dustpan after 100 metres; but a good effort
Heart 2 Comment 0

I'm in country where wedgetails feed on roadkill. I'm in country also where they drink Great Northern. Horrid stuff! Apparently, it's crisp but so is an apple!

Dreadful hop-free dross. Discuss!
Heart 2 Comment 2
Gerard HoganI agree Wal. It is not real beer.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ian WallisTo Gerard HoganGerard - good to have that issue settled! As one who likes to try new things, I was caught out by this dross at Canberra Yacht Club. Can you help me with Telstra?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

There's very little traffic so I did the sensible thing and cycled on the wrong side - the far right. It's smoother! A few people stopped for a chat including Catherine and Richard and their four kelpies from nearby "Pretty View". 

A mailbox not an apartment!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I managed 129 km, just over halfway to Cobar, before pulling in to a nice camp. Soon had a fire going so it was ready for a billy when the tent was up. 

A nice spot for the night
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 129 km (80 miles)
Total: 591 km (367 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithHi Ian I see you are powering along at a pace which would be approved by the Friday Peloton. Well done on the considerable progress.

By contrast of travel styles, Jane & I have just boarded the Eurostar at St Pancras Station and we’ll be in Paris for lunch.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Graham SmithHi Ian I see you are powering along at a pace which would be approved by the Friday Peloton. Well done on the considerable progress.

By contrast of travel styles, Jane & I have just boarded the Eurostar at St Pancras Station and we’ll be in Paris for lunch.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago