Day 49 - The beauty of a novel - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2023

Day 49 - The beauty of a novel

The search went out for my phone, which made it sensible to stay at Casa Minha and wait for news. People mentioned that I'd be able to retrieve stuff from the cloud. They didn't realise that they were talking to someone who once lived in a small wooden house, in which a bean bag once caught fire and in which resided a partly-backed-up PhD thesis! Clouds, for me, are those gorgeous items of all shapes, sizes and textures in the sky. Some, I'm told, have silver linings!

Fortunately, I had bought a novel in Darwin and so spent the day with my head buried in it. The days ahead would tell me that I should have gone for the 2/$25 offer!

I had read reviews; it's a terrific story
Heart 3 Comment 1
Jackie LaycockHer next one is also good! particularly for those of us who like words!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I had heard nothing by 5 and so jumped on my bike and cycled to Cristo Rei. It's the reason that Dili should twin with Rio. Being Sunday, it was hectic getting there and even more so at the base of the 600 steps to the big guy. I was back at Casa Minha at 6.45 having cycled 25 km and hung around at the top taking photos with my camera. Felt great to expend some energy.

This Jesus was nicked from Wikipedia; that explains his frown!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Now, after a tour in Dili with JDN member, Belizea, I need to add some important information. Cristo Rei was a gift from Indonesia to celebrate 20 years of occupation. It's 27 m high. Funny number, you might think. It's not without considerable thought - Timor Leste was Indonesia's 27th province!

Today's ride: 25 km (16 miles)
Total: 4,336 km (2,693 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0