Day 48 - ever had a day that didn't quite go to plan? - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2023

Day 48 - ever had a day that didn't quite go to plan?

I'm not a mobile phone person. I need one on this trip to do the blog. But it steals my freedom. In Australia, it forced me to stay in towns where I could access the internet. In Dili, it means that the blog is almost impossible. Even small photos take a long time to load and forget about trying to do it between 10 AM and midnight. This means that I do it early morning when it's cool - the best time for being out.

Today was very good. Like yesterday, I traveled with JDN to a village where they cooked a meal and taught nutrition to the women. This village, Metinaru, is about 30 km east of Dili, so I cycled to JDN, and we drove from there. It was at Metinaru that I discovered that my phone didn't charge last night; chargers with adapters fall from sockets easily here! I used my camera and relied on others for photos for the blog.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
A proud community member
Heart 4 Comment 0

On our return journey, we stopped at a tiny nature reserve featuring 18 species of mangrove and a healthy colony of crab-eating macaques (Macaca fascicularis). They're pretty happy eating other stuff!

Nea, Ian, Anzenita, Clement, Marcelina and Tinezia at the nature reserve
Heart 5 Comment 0

We were back late afternoon so I cycled back to Casa Minha to charge my phone and check to see where I was meeting Carmen. BUT THERE WAS NO PHONE IN MY PANNIER! I knew one number - Cora's, so I did one of my first WhatsApp calls on a borrowed phone, hoping that she could contact Carmen by getting her number from my email. Cora was out! I walked to the night market where I thought we were meeting. I learnt later that Carmen was there. Life was so much easier ........................................ago.

Today's ride: 20 km (12 miles)
Total: 4,311 km (2,677 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0