Day 2 - Yass to Boorowa, a short day made long - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 2, 2023

Day 2 - Yass to Boorowa, a short day made long

On the second day, out of Yass, we turned a short day into a long one. Overnight, gold tops, those small hallucinogenic mushrooms, had popped up around the tent. These things will get you moving but you'll probably go around in squiggly circles and go nowhere.

Heart 2 Comment 0

We went to Kaffeine, the cafe where a couple of years ago I met Doug another touring cyclist. We sat there for 3 hours and the triumph was that I did my first day of the blog on my phone, something I have never done before. I also gave out some cards about my ride. I took a photo of James, who was returning to Canberra partly to be there for our friend Rosemary. Will be thinking of you, Rose. 

James
Heart 5 Comment 0

It was after 11 when we headed off looking for the road to Rye Park and our circuitous ride to Boorowa. Looked at the art under the bridge, cycled through the industrial area and the euphemism area (water treatment plant, sewage; waste transfer station, dump). It was a day with 100 g of sunshine and a kilo of wind. I was straight in to touring mode looking for camping sites, not that I needed them for days, and roadside fruit - scored some excellent apples.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Camping 101 - service road for a railway
Heart 4 Comment 0
Camping 101 - TSR, the three most beautiful letters for the touring cyclist
Heart 4 Comment 3
Jackie Laycockexcept when there are stock travelling I would imagine?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jackie Laycockexcept when there are stock travelling I would imagine?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jackie Laycockexcept when there are stock travelling I would imagine?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

I thought about Alan Joyce stepping down as CEO of QANTAS and our request for money from them for my airfares. I decided that the new CEO, in a show of empathy, will shovel money to indigo!

I smiled when I noticed Pudnam Creek Footrot Control Area. Anyone with long- term tinea, get down there and the creek bods will fix you up.

A remarkable thing happened over lunch in Rye Park. Have two touring cyclist ever, simultaneously, emailed government ministers? I was contacting the Minister for Charities requesting support.

All up it was a terrific day through lovely patches of yellow box- redgum woodland. The birds that made me smile were parrots - rosellas, red-rumps and superbs.

Crowd came out as I rolled into Boorowa and a great Dane greeted me. That's nice. A night in the caravan park, again with spartan facilities for real campers - those with tents, with a sojourn in the pub. A fine day!

Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 km (42 miles)
Total: 156 km (97 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Rob ParnellLove the photo of the slab hut. Rye Park?
Rob (Tim & Wendy's friend)
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Aileen HoganVery much enjoying your blog Ian - a good chuckle at your descriptions of doings , sights and sounds as well as the photos! Congrats on your first blog executed by phone 📱🥇 . Trust it was a friendly Dane!! Safe travels
Aileen
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ian WallisTo Aileen HoganAileen: pleased you're enjoying it. Are you the farmer from Merriwa?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ian WallisTo Rob ParnellRob, thanks for your various comments, esp on First Nations people. Don't let the blog distract you too much. Ian
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Aileen HoganTo Ian WallisIt is I , Ian!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jackie LaycockHi Ian, Sadly Qantas did not come to the party and donate your airfare from Singapore to Canberra at the end of the trip. They assured me that I would understand that they have so many requests for support and only the capacity to support a small number of them. They recommended that I look at the Qantas Regional Grants Program which indicates to me that they didn''t read our application at all. So sorry. Jackie
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ian WallisTo Jackie LaycockPerhaps I misjudged the new CEO. Alan would have given us money.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago