Day 14 - north of Charleville - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2023

Day 14 - north of Charleville

Some days you feel like a winner. Today was one of those days after an early mishap. I was up at 6 to try my luck with Macca and actually got on his show but just didn't connect. I guess that I'm boring or my subject matter is and so after a brief conversation I felt as though I was walking away from a bad job interview. But people from the caravan park gave me money and I got phone calls from friends. 

I then had a fine chat with Brian, who cruises the country looking for windmills to restore at his place near Shepparton. Older the better, rarer the better. 

With that done I knocked out an article for Pedal Power and it was just 8.30 AM. I packed slowly, cruised the town and got on my way at 11 in clean clothes and loaded with food.

They were the days
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
They were closed on Sunday so I couldn't suggest cycle touring
Heart 4 Comment 0

So here I was, headed for Augathella; it's hard to get over the distances.

Heart 3 Comment 0

It was a glorious day for cycling, even at 26C and a slight headwind, and fine scenery too.

Heart 3 Comment 0

History was never far away.

The first outback mechanics saw the benefits of a house cow. It provided nutrients for the family and could hoist a car
Heart 3 Comment 0

The trees that made me smile today were Carbeen and Queensland bottle trees.

Corymbia tesselaris - basically a eucalypt
Heart 3 Comment 0
Who wouldn't cycle 1400 km to see Brachychiton rupestris growing wild? It's one of about 30 species in this Australian genus.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Augathella is off the highway so I ventured in for water and for the advertised Augathellan experience. I'm not sure what it is but it may be a bottle tree on every possible corner. I did like the art on the water-tower.

Heart 4 Comment 0

I pushed on thinking that a few more kms would give me a fighting chance of getting to Longreach (520 km) on Wednesday. A great day finished with a fine camp-site after 113 km and my first night in shorts and T-shirt.

Today's ride: 113 km (70 miles)
Total: 1,467 km (911 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Graham SmithHi Ian,

To celebrate your arriving in and beyond Charleville, Jane and I popped out to Windsor Castle by train from Earls Court to see if newly crowned King Charles III would be interested in sponsoring this sector.

To no avail. It seems KCIII keeps the castle door shut on Mondays and Tuesdays.

The day wasn’t wasted. We enjoyed the sunshine, walked around Eton and found what appears to be the oldest Chinese restaurant in England. The Nell Gwyn opened in 1640. Perhaps a typo by the sign writer.

Well done on your ongoing progress well into Queensland.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jackie Laycockgreat stuff Ian, watch out for agressive cows!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jackie LaycockAlso, don't feel bad about Macca, you did your best. I don't think he was really listening, not exciting enough for him. I found the timing if anyone wants to listen to it, you start talking about 56 mins in,
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Ian WallisTo Jackie LaycockIf you want to listen to this then you are desperate for something to do. What's wrong with watching ants?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Gerard HoganMacca's show would be great without Maccca. Most of the people he gets on have interesting stories but he mainly wants to talk about himself.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisDear Gerard
Good hearing from you as I sit by a camp fire 80 km from Camooweal. I agree with what you say but feel that I made a mistake in not calling my bike Beersheba or something similar. Wal
Reply to this comment
10 months ago