Day 123 - finally, I get somewhere - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2023

Day 123 - finally, I get somewhere

I've learnt something about cycling in the past couple of days. The average gradient of your ride can be less than 1% - eg, 750 m of climbing in 100 km, and you can still have a very hard task. This is how it works. Every time you climb, you gain just 25 m but at a gradient of 10-12 %. Thus, in going 750 m you climb up 30 little pinches. Well, I did 145 km today in an attempt to get well under the psychological barrier of 500 km to Dumai. I averaged 18.5 kmh and thus was in the saddle for about 8 hours, and soaking wet all day. There was hardly a hill I climbed in anything but first gear.

Apart from being a long day of hard cycling, with all of the usual annoyances- loud vehicles, plumes of diesel smoke on the climbs, trucks hindering my descents, etc, the scenery was abysmal. But before I get to that, the day had a highlight that I heard before I saw: siamangs, the largest gibbon species, often referred to as the singing acrobats of Asian forests. I watched them for 15 minutes and that's exactly what they were.

It may surprise you that, in Sumatra, there is a huge trade in gibbons. Basically, poachers kill the parents and then abduct a baby, for which they already have a buyer.

A couple of siamang in some roadside vegetation that bordered a palm plantation.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The air was overcast and smoky. The palms went on forever, and I found nothing to inspire a photograph. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantHmmmm . . . Monoculture . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Home among the palm trees - John Williamson
Heart 4 Comment 0
There are small palms on all of the terraces
Heart 4 Comment 0
For as far as the eye can see.
Heart 4 Comment 5
Florence SofieldSumatra looks like it’s headed the same way as Malaysia! Nothing lives in those Palm plantations!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Florence SofieldFlorence, yes, the natural forest has gone and, in return, there's a lot more menial work. I'm not sure that nothing lives in the plantations. A lot of epiphytes grow on the palms and it wouldn't surprise me if they provide a lot of habitat for smaller creatures. But things like orangutan and Sumatran tiger, to name just two, are all but gone. But let's be optimistic.......
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantThanks for reinforcing my vow to never consume palm oil Wal. Industrial agriculture is a catastrophe . . .
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, I'm not sure you can avoid it. It's ubiquitous.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
John GrantTo Ian WallisVery true Ian. I just try to support small producers working outside the corporate system whenever I can.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

Wouldn't you think that it's a good idea to leave decent blocks of original forest with corridors joining them? I'm thinking here of the welfare of the poachers and their families.

The endless palms make for a very boring blog. When I did see something to inspire me - a fellow named Muliana, who had ridden his single speed bike from Jakarta to Medan, and was on his way home, my phone screen was black. That was a battle that could wait. I got a lovely photo on my camera.

I had eaten a large number of bananas with bread for breakfast and they kept me going for 70 km, at which point I dropped in for Masakan Padang. I passed a guest house where I should have stayed last night if all of my kms had been in the right direction.

Clean, safe and comfortable, it says.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I passed places of importance and was somewhat relieved when brickworks appeared alongside the palms. 

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

I knew what I had to do with my phone and that was to find "settings" and "display", but how do you do that if you can't see anything on the screen. I took the opportunity to duck into a phone store to seek advice. In that light, however, I could just see the screen and attend to it myself. I enjoyed chatting with yhe fellows in the store and exchanging photos.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

I did another 10 km and decided that a tea and a coffee was what I needed to squeeze more out of the day.

Vendor of the day - it's a simple job, but the ladies nailed it.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I took the opportunity to look for nearby hotels. There were a couple of "lodgings" nearby and a hotel in a town 20 km away. These ladies assured me that the hotel exists,  and so I gambled on getting a room. On the way I took the odd photo.

Sir, would you like garbage with your palm trees.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
This is big! I have reached my final province.
Heart 7 Comment 4
Graham SmithWell done Ian. Province by province, island by island you’ve crossed the improbable mix of cultures and regions called Indonesia.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo Graham SmithThanks Graham, hope to get to Dumain in four days. That will be exciting. It seems to be that bit warmer here. I'm making no attempt to avoid the heat if the day.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Graham SmithTo Ian WallisOn the map, Dumai appears to be well past Singapore and more aligned with Malacca.

If that’s accurate, you deserve a whole pannier full of additional Frequent Rider Points. For going above and beyond the call of Unfinished Business.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisGraham, you're right. Several people have suggested ferries from other places, including Palembang. I'm getting as close as I can. Ian
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
?
Heart 4 Comment 3
John GrantLooks like unfinished business to me Ian.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian WallisTo John GrantJohn, once again a bunch of comments I thoroughly enjoyed.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Ian DouglasOpen plan swift house.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
My final hill for the day, I hope.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I got to an appealing and bustling market town as the day got long and the mosques droned on. I pulled up at Hotel Wisma Raja, only to discover it full. There seem to be other hotels relatively close, so I asked about them. The fellow assured me that there's nothing nearby. 

I headed off towards one five km away and on my way I saw a police station. My thinking was that if there wasn't anything around I could probably stay. An officer assured me that Hotel Wisma Wirda exists and he phoned for me. They had rooms.

And so, after 145 km, I reached Wisma Wirda. I got the usual grotty room and felt that it deserved a few photos.

The hotel lobby
Heart 5 Comment 0
In room bike parking
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
John GrantYou're not the first person to use that door Ian !
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

I crossed the road to a restaurant that served Masakan Padang. There was the usual request for a photo and then I took a couple of random shots on my way back.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

I did the night's spoke inspection - all good, and then pondered two questions: first, is there anywhere in Indonesia that doesn't offer Masakan Padang? Secondly, has anyone ever called out "I want to eat here; they've got Madakan Padang"?

Today's ride: 145 km (90 miles)
Total: 9,043 km (5,616 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
John GrantWe'll have to go into the city to get Madakan Padang if you stay here on the way home. No Indonesian Warung in Newtown Ian.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago